Hon Chemistry 11-28-22 Chapter 7 Test Overview

HONORS CHEMISTRY: God bless you as you study for the test! Here’s our overview of the test from today.

Have you been using the “Chapter 7 Stuff to Know & Know How to Do” sheet? It’s a great way to get organized in studying for the test. I know it seems like a lot, but you can do it!

First priority – make sure that you have memorized EVERYTHING. Then, go to The Physics Classroom and/or sciencegeek.net and make sure you can write and name chemical formulas. Practice, practice, practice!!! Then start practicing the different kinds of problems – do at least three of each one of them. And also try those on sciencegeek.net. That’s always some good practice. God bless – I’ll be praying for you!


Photo by Alexandre Chambon on Unsplash

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

9 thoughts on “Hon Chemistry 11-28-22 Chapter 7 Test Overview

  1. Relearning roman numerals for the stock system is applicable to my everyday life. These can be seen in many books I read. It’s important to know them because they can be used in math and in literature.

  2. Learning about what types of things are recyclable and why has been applicable to my life. My family recycles different items everyday, and now I am able to understand why these items can be recycled. I also now know to look for a number on containers to see how recyclable they are.

  3. Learning the chemical names for common substances has helped me in real life. For example, I was baking with a mix and I didn’t know if I needed to add baking soda or if the mix already had it. As I scanned the ingredients, the last ingredient was sodium bicarbonate. Knowing this was baking soda allowed me to bake correctly. This is just an example of how common substance chemical names can help me in every day life.

  4. Something I have learned from this past chapter that is applicable is by checking to see if something is dishwasher safe by checking the number on the recyclable sign. Because if the recyclable sign is a lower number then I know it can melt when heated. This will help me to make sure what I put in the dishwasher is safe.

  5. An application that I can use from this chapter is percent composition. Learning this formula makes it way easier to find the percent of a part in a whole. Doing this can help me with things like finding the percentages of certain ingredients in a meal.

  6. An application from this lesson is my new knowledge of thermosetting and thermoplastic polymers. I now know what plastic utensils can be placed in a dishwasher without melting. If they are a thermosetting polymer they will not lose their shape, because their monomers have branches that will not allow them to move.

  7. An application from this lesson includes learning symbols such as HDPE, LDPE, and CLPE which helps me understand what they mean on materials I buy. I have seen these before and not been aware of their meaning, but now I am able to apply my new knowledge of polymers when I am making decisions on recyclable products.

  8. Learning percent composition has been applicable in my daily life. This is useful to calculate how many macros are in a food if they are not listed, or if I need to see saturated and unsaturated fats.

  9. I would rate myself a 3/5 for this semester. I know I worked hard and was able to apply myself as well as grow this semester. I knocked off points for procrastinating or being unorganized at times, but I think I also learned from my mistakes and now I am more responsible. It can be very easy to get behind, but I believe I stayed on top of my work for the most part. As a whole, this semester has been challenging but also rewarding!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *