Hon Chemistry 1-10-24 Double Replacement & Combustion Reactions

HON CHEMISTRY: We had to go fast, but do you realize what we did? We finished all 17 types of reactions today! We’ll practice them tomorrow since we had to go so fast today. Also, no audio on today’s recording, so I’m posting a vodcast from last year.

Careful when you work with any of these! For all single replacement reactions and reactions involving forming or decomposing oxide, be sure and refer to the Activity Series. Yes, you do get to memorize the Activity Series for the test – for the big test, not for the coming up quiz!

Are you working on memorizing all 17 types of reactions?! But don’t just memorize them. Make sure you can apply them as well. When you start to work any equation, first determine what type of reaction it is, then figure out what rule applies and follow it to determine the products. I believe in you! You can do it!! (and yes, I realize I am repeating myself, but I do and you can!)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 thoughts on “Hon Chemistry 1-10-24 Double Replacement & Combustion Reactions

  1. This week I have done well with completing my homework on time and turning it in. Last semester, I didn’t do as well at this and it hurt me in the end with my grades, but so far this has been a good start to the year, and I believe I’ll be able to keep this up.

  2. I did doing my homework on time and not last-minute very well. I did this because I stayed on myself about making sure I didn’t forget or do it last minute.

  3. This week I feel like I have done well taking notes. Since learning this new chapter, I have been trying to take very thorough notes. Writing examples in my notes helps me learn applications when I go back through them to study. This semester I hope to keep taking good notes so everything is organized when I go to study.

  4. I have done well this week with keeping up with all of the new information. I have also done better at spreading out my workload so that I am less stressed. This has made the start of the year feel good, and I hope to keep it up and continue to get better.

  5. I was focused in class and tried to understand our topics to the fullest. I did this because I knew we had a quiz approaching and big test not far behind it. I came to class with my homework done and ready to ask questions on the pronto.

  6. This week I did well finding time to do homework and balance it out with other classes as well. I was able to set aside time to do the homework so I did not have to do it the day of.

  7. This week I triumphed this week by finding time and carving out time to memorize and study for our quiz this Friday. Because of this I made a great grade on the quiz and felt great about it.

  8. This week, I triumphed by studying the seventeen chemical reactions very efficiently. I did this by not waiting until the last minute and by using various study methods. This helped me to do well on the quiz, which I consider a triumph.

  9. This week I did good by studying for the quiz Friday and not studying for it last minute but studying a little bit every day. This is because this year, I am challenging myself to learn to study more effectively. This will help me to also study for the test next week and don’t having to cram the night before to study for the test.

  10. This week I did well on balancing chemical formulas. I kept practicing them more and they began to get easier. I made sure that the ones I got wrong I reworked and saw where I made a mistake.

  11. This week i have triumphed in memorizing the chemical reactions. I spread my time out and memorized section’s. I am challenging myself to do this for every quiz or test because it payed off

  12. I triumphed by making sure I remembered the 17 chemical reactions for the quiz this week. I am trying to hold myself accountable and study more often and longer in advance.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *