Chemistry 2-12-16 Chapter 4 Test Overview

CHEMISTRY: God bless as you study for the chapter 4 test! Here is the overview that we did today of the chapter. SUPER IMPORTANT that you watch this vodcast as you study!!

Have you checked out the Chapter 4 Stuff to Know Sheet from Edline? Make sure you memorize the things you need to memorize so that you can apply them on the test. And practice, practice, practice, the problems and electron configurations.

What about applications for discussion? Photoelectric effect, spectroscopy, etc.? Another great idea for studying is to watch the videos that we watched in class – super helpful as you study for the test!! Check them out on the the earlier lesson web posts. Here are some of them:
Spectrum of the Stars (overivew of the results of the spectroscopy lab you did, shows the connection between our lab on spectroscopy and how we can identify elements), Emission Spectrum of Hydrogen (how we use it to know about the energy levels in an atom), Quantum Mechanics (about the roles of Bohr, Schrodinger, Heisenberg), and also Animated Quantum Mechanics.

God bless you! I’m praying for you!!

Chemistry 2-12-16 Chapter 4 Test Overview from Tammy Skinner on Vimeo.

flickr photp by Curtis Gregory Perry

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

138 thoughts on “Chemistry 2-12-16 Chapter 4 Test Overview

  1. This week in chemistry my main was struggle was all of the homework, labs, and other classwork we had to do. It was a lot to do this week, but i just evenly distributed my time and focus on getting the work done by its deadline. This week i was super excited that i made a 71 on my test. I have been struggling for months to pass a test and now that i finally did it gave me a boost of confidence. This week we did a lab that required you to apply your knowledge and observations to solve for periodic trends. I would rate myself a 4 out of 5 this week because despite all the pressure and work i still gave it my all.

  2. This week during chemistry I struggled because I missed Monday and Tuesday so I was begins at first. But I feel that triumphed during the Periodic Trednds lab. This week I continued learning about the applications and uses of the elements. I can apply what I have been learning to use while deciding what elements are in things. I would rate myself a 3/5 stars for this week.

  3. This week was very difficult. I had lots of activities this week and loads of homework ever night, but I managed to stay ahead and get through the week. I enjoyed the lab this week. I felt like a real chemist mixing all the compounds. I would rate myself a 5 out of 5 for this week because I stayed caught up and I completed all my assignments. The only downfall I had this week was I did not do good on my test so next time will have to study harder and hopefully pull my grade up.

  4. This week in Chemistry, I was able to learn more about the elements. We did an element handbook search and learned more about the different blocks on the periodic table. We also did a lab. the lab was challenging, but my partner and I managed our time efficiently and were able to get done with time to spare. I did not do as well on the test as I had hoped and will study harder next time. I would rate myself a 3/5 this week because I feel like I did well, but I could have done better.

  5. This week I did a lot better on my test. I did better on my test because I spent more time on learning the chapter and less time on the math and it drastically helped on my test. I had a lot of trouble with the lab this week. The reason I had trouble was because I typed up the lab but forgot to print it off so I lost some time going to the computer lab to print it. I was able to finish the lab but had to move really quick. So I was in a hurry the whole time. Other than that, the lab went smoothly because the instructures were pretty precise. This week I would rate myself a 5/5 because of the grade I got on my test!!!

  6. This week, I would rate myself a three out of five. I feel as though the lab was very successful, and I have began to efficiently study for future tests.

  7. This week I would rate myself a 3 out of five. This weeks lab was fun but me and my partner barely finished on time. The hardest part this week was all of the assignments and homework we had due on the assigned dates. This was a busy week in chemistry but I did good on working on my c-lab and getting ahead and on finishing my homework on time.

  8. This week I would rate myself a 3/5 because I wasn’t ready for the test. I know that I can not just study the night before, I need to study a little bit each night. I feel like the lab was successful because my lab partner and I knew what we were doing and each did a step while the other did another. I have also learned more about the s, p, d, and f blocks.

  9. This week I would rate myself a 3/5 stars. My partner and I barely got done, so next time I will try to know the lab better. I feel like I know the period table better now that I know how it is formed.

  10. This week I’d give myself 4/5 because I’ve been doing the element scavenger hunt a lot per day. I also feel like I should study more before a test and I can’t just study a lot one day before the test. This week i also feel like I did good overall on the test and the lab we had.

  11. This week, I learned more about halogens, noble gases, transition metals, the lanthanide series, and the actinide series. In addition, I learned how many elements can be used in our daily lives and in different materials. On the test this week, I did better than the last one because spent more time studying for it. Overall, I would rate myself a 3/5 for learning new material and the amount of effort I put into the test.

  12. i rate myself 4 out of 5 stars this week. I really enjoyed the work we have done so far with the ch chemical properties of certain elements and the re-activity of them. Although my partner and I didn’t finish the lab on time it was fun to see the reactions the metals gave off.

  13. This week I struggled with the homework about creating your on periodic table. I didn’t completely understand how to. My triumph would be completing the lab on periodic trends and properties of elements on time. We learned a lot of facts about the different blocks of elements, of which I found their differences and similarities interesting. I would give myself 4/5 stars because I feel like I need to understand the homework better.

  14. This week I have learned and am still learning more about the elements that we have to research in the cLab. It is very eye opening to see what different elements can be used for and if they had not been discovered imagine all the things we would not have today. I would rate myself a 3 out of 5 stars this week because I did make a better grade on the test that we just took and my lab partner and I finished the lab in enough time to have some time to spare. I feel like I can still do better.

  15. I am very happy this week that my lab partner and I managed to finish the lab by the end of class. This is because we both had read the lab procedures well before the actual lab. I will try, however, to work as a team with my lab partner more in the future. I struggled with making progress on the scavenger hunt each day in class. I also struggled on keeping up with homework on the syllabus. Because I missed an assignment, I rate myself a three out of five this week.

  16. This week we learned about the elements more in detail by doing the reverse scavenger hunt. The class time helped me get a lot of it done and I know it will be very helpful for the test. This week was a triumph for me. I was very happy with my previous test grade. I think that making out my own test and studying in more efficient ways helped me a lot. I rate myself 4/5 this week.

  17. This week I would rate myself a 2.5 out of 5. I really struggled to keep up this week, I should have been more responsible with my homework time. I do like working on the reverse element scavenger hunt though. Next week I will try much harder than I did this week.

  18. This was a pretty good week for me in chemistry. I was very happy to find out that I passed my test! We’ve been learning about the s, p, d, and f blocks of the periodic table and researching the elements in those blocks. I’ve learned a lot from it and it has been very interesting to learn specific things about each element I’ve learned a lot of new things. I rate myself a 4/5 this week because I struggled with the lab it did not go how I wanted it to go I read it before I typed it up and read it as I was typing it and then again after I printed it out and my partner and I still struggled with it.

  19. This week in chemistry I would rate myself a 3/5. My struggle this week was my test grade, I did not do as well as I expected. I will make better efforts to do better on the next test. Also this week we have been doing a clab about the elements and finding out facts about them.Yesterday we did a lab about periodic trends and I feel like my lab partner and I did great and we had time to spare despite our Bunsen burner malfunctioning!

  20. This week I would rate myself a 4/5. My test grade was a big fall for the week. I fortunately completed the lab on time and this week we learned about blocks of the periodic table. I managed to finish all of my homework this week which is another reason why my rate is high. I struggled a little bit on the reverse scavenger hunt but I have been doing it at home and am close to finishing it.

  21. This week I rate myself a 4/5. I struggled in the electron configuration on our test we got back but I’m practicing so I can really get it on our next test! I enjoy learning about all the different elements and how they are used in our every day life! I also loved the lab we did seeing how differnt elements can form solids and make reactions like fizzing and bubbles when even just water is added!

  22. This week I’d give myself 4/5 because I’ve been doing the element scavenger hunt a lot per day. I also feel like I should study more before a test like weeks a head and I can’t just study a lot one day before the test. This week i struggled during our lab but it was a fun lab overall

  23. This week I have been working on my element scavenger hunt everyday. I feel that once it is complete that it will really help me in the future with my chemistry work. I also enjoyed the lab this week. Although my lab partner and I were not able to start on the second part I feel that we learned a lot from the first part and will have to do better with our time management in the next long lab.

  24. This week the lab was really easy for me. I understood it very well and didn’t struggle. I feel like I’m understanding the material very well. I would rate myself a 5/5

  25. This week I learned several details of every element in the periodic table. I’d rate myself 4/5, as I could’ve done better on the lab.

  26. this week we learned about the blocks the elements are in and about there trends. on the lab me and reed need to work on working together and not doing the same thing at the same time. we also need to read the whole lab and not just part of the lab. overall the labs were really fun and I had a blast doing them. now time to study for the retest.

  27. This week was difficult because of the amount of work we had. I did enjoy researching and learning everyday uses of the elements though. The lab was pretty easy too. I would rate myself a 3/5 stars this week.

  28. This week in class we learned a ton of new things about elements. Through the cLab, I was able to find out about the various properties and uses of elements- some properties we learned about totally blew me away. This week I feel like I really Triumphed in class through participation. I really fought to learn this week. I did my best to answer all of the questions we were asked and am very pleased with myself.

  29. This week I felt like I did better on the lab. And I understood what I was suppose to do and completed it in the perfect time.Grade 5/5

  30. This week I rate myself a 5/5. I did my homework and me and Logan grinded out the lab and I’m really happy with how I rebounded after that bad grade on the test

  31. This week i enjoyed learning how the elements were used for everyday life. It really made me appreciate the periodic table much more. Next week we have a test coming up and this week I plan to really prepare for it and watch the vodcasts and study the reverse elements really well. this week I would rate myself a 2 out of 5 because I didn’t prepare for the test last week as much as I should have.

  32. This week we learned everything thing that we need to know about the period blocks and the elements in them. I did struggle getting the clab done in class so I brought it home and worked on it. Me and Braydon were ready for the periodic properties lab and knew what we were doing so we got done early. I also really liked both the clab and the periodic properties lab this week. I would give myself a 4/5 this week because I feel like I did really well on the periodic properties lab but I didn’t get the clab done.

  33. The work load this week has been challenging and I worked hard to complete my homework. It has been interesting researching the elements for the reverse scavenger hunt clab. In The periodic properties lab I was able to perform the chemical reactions very easily. I give myself a 4/5 this week.

  34. I would rate my self a 4/5 this week. I was really prepared for the lab this week. I will continue to prepare for future labs like I did this one so I can be quicker and more efficient in lab. I am really learning a lot about elements with the researching we have been doing.

  35. I rate myself a 4/5 this week. My lab partner and I finished the lab with plenty of time to spare. I thought the lab was really interesting. I struggled with keeping up with the virtual lab packet since I’ve been kinda behind on it.

  36. This week in chemistry, I mainly focused on getting the cLab caught up. I felt good about it and all of the book work. I didn’t do too good on the test, but I plan on coming to the help session Monday morning, reworking homework, and rewatching podcasts. I felt good about the lab we did Thursday and managed to give myself enough to clean up and leave on time. I would rate myself a 3 out of 5 for this week in chemistry.

  37. This week in chemistry i learned how to more effectively identify how elements are grouped and classified. When I first started learning about the periodic table it felt like it was just a bunch of symbols and numbers in rows. Now i look at the periodic table and i see purpose. I learned that elements that have similar traits tend tk be grouped togther and kind of follow each other.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *