Hon Chemistry 10-12-22 Wednesday’s Class

HON CHEMISTRY – Did the PSAT fry your brain? Here’s what we are doing in class today:

1) Complete the TPC activity: States of Matter
2) Research Cu, Si and P.

Some good info on Cu, Si and P can be found in your textbook at the very end of chapter 1. Another great resource to research the elements Cu, Si and P (for the TEST!!) are these video clips on copper, phosphorus, and silicon that a group of chemistry researchers have put together at www.periodicvideos.com. If you can’t get the P video to open, watch it here YouTube – Phosphorus – PT Video. Watch these and take notes. The information on these video clips will be on the test.

Hey, have you had a chance to check out the chapter 1 study suggestion sheet? (And you’re still learning the symbols of the elements, right?!?)
🙂

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

51 thoughts on “Hon Chemistry 10-12-22 Wednesday’s Class

  1. My goal for the second term is to get all As on my test and stay on top of my work in chemistry. I will doing this by studying diligently, and waiting till the last minute to do anything.

    • Ask-
      Q-why are noble gases in a family all by themselves l, instead of being spread around the table
      A- the noble gases are all inert, don’t react, and family’s are made of elements that are all similar in characteristics

  2. Ask: What would happen if you tried to separate non-water soluble ink in water by photo chromatography?
    Answer: The ink would not separate. For photo chromatography to work, the ink being separated must be placed in a substance that it is soluble in.

  3. Ask: How do we know we’ve REALLY discovered all the elements possible?

    Answer: We can break down things in the world and break them down to the smallest possible entity and end up with elements from the periodic table. The fact that that’s all we will ever end up with is basis enough to say that we’ve discovered all naturally occurring elements as possible.

  4. Ask: If a pure substance can’t be broken down by physical means, how would you be able to separate the hydrogen from the oxygen in water?

    Answer: You can use electrolysis, a method of chemical separation that involves passing an electric current through the water which causes it to break down into hydrogen and oxygen.

  5. Ask: If a random element was given to you, how would you be able to determine what type of element it is (metal, nonmetal, metalloid)?

    Answer: All types of elements have distinct properties unique to that type of element. You could conduct a series of tests to determine if the element is malleable or brittle, its state at room temperature, how good of a conductor it is, and how reactive it is. Based on your findings, you could determine the type of element by its properties.

  6. Q- We learned that noble gases are inert or don’t react. So is there a way to force one, if any, to react?

    A- A British chemist Neil Bartlett discovered that he could take away an electron, with a certain amount of energy, from the noble gas Xenon. He used platinum hexafluoride to oxidise (remove an electron from an element) Xenon, causing it to react!

  7. Ask- Can you separate a compound, and if you can how?

    You can only separate compounds by chemical means, one method to separate substances by chemical means is electrolysis, which is using volts of electricity to separate substances.

  8. Ask: If elements can’t be separated by chemical means or physical means, can elements be separated at all?
    Answer: Elements are not able to be separated by ordinary chemical means; although elements can in a way be broken down by a unique method. Nuclear fission, or the splitting of atoms. Scientists can shoot neutrons, going at the exact right speed, at the nucleus of atoms to strain them enough to break. This can release ample amounts of energy to start a chain reaction creating things such as atomic bombs. While the element loses its identity after the atoms split losing their identity of protons, neutrons, and electrons. So, the element is no longer, but it has been broken down into something new.

  9. Q: One thing I’ve always kind of wondered is why balloons pop when they reach higher temperatures. And, until this chapter, I’ve never really been able to answer this.

    A: Basically, balloons pop at higher temperatures because the gas in the balloon expands as the balloon gets hotter. This occurs because gas particles, when heated, expand over a larger volume, while keeping the same mass. Because they do this, the gas particles eventually press up too hard and stress the balloon too much, which causes the rubber in the balloon to overstretch itself, causing it to pop.

  10. Reflect- I did better on this test then our last chapter test, but still didn’t get the grade I wanted. A lot of the multiple choice that I missed, I originally had the correct answer marked but doubted myself later on and put an incorrect response. I knew the information and I studied well so next time I’m gonna go with my initial answer.

  11. Reflect- I would give myself 2 stars. I did better on this test then our last chapter test, but still didn’t get the grade I wanted. A lot of the multiple choice that I missed, I originally had the correct answer marked but doubted myself later on and put an incorrect response. I knew the information and I studied well so next time I’m gonna go with my initial answer.

  12. R- i think i did well on starting studying early but i don’t think i studied enough i think next time i need to study for longer. i would rate myself a 2/5

  13. Rate: I would give myself a 3.5 out of 5 starts on my Chapter 1 test. I did much better on this test than my chapter 2 test. I studied by making a study guide based off the “what to study” so i think i understood the material more, but i was hasty with the multiple choice which resulted in missing more than i wanted to. I am overall happy with my grade but am hoping to do better on the next one.

  14. Reflect: I would give myself 4 stars because I studied well, and I recalled most of the information. I didn’t give myself 5 stars because I missed more multiple choice than I should have, and I didn’t think through the discussion well. Next time, I will practice discussion questions at home and thoroughly study each topic.

  15. Rate: I would give myself 3 stars on my Chapter 1 test, because I could have studied better. I should have been able to apply the material better. Also, if I gave myself enough time to really think about what the question is asking, I believe I would have scored higher.

  16. Rate and Reflect: I would rate myself 5 stars on the Chapter 1 Test and Preparation. I am usually really hard on myself, but I worked efficiently to prepare for the test. I studied the material ahead of time and made sure to cover everything on the study suggestions sheet/ my own study sheet. I could have worked more on application questions/ discussion questions, but otherwise, I did quite well on this test. I know to use similar methods in the future.

  17. Rate and reflect: I’d give me ch 1 test a 3.5 out of 5. I tried my best with studying and preparing for it but I just wish I had a better outcome. They grade isn’t terrible but I definitely can do better. I’ll improve my grade by studying a little more in advance so that I’m not cramming the night or 2 before hand but instead studying a few days before so I can learn the information instead of memorizing

  18. Rate and reflect: I would rate myself a 4/5 this week. I prepared well for the test, and I did better on this rather than the last chapter test. The one thing I would change is putting more detail into the discussion questions. I didn’t put enough information and I got a lot of points counted off. I’m going to keep preparing early for the tests though like I did for this test.

  19. Rate and Reflect: I would rate my test performance a 4/5 this week. Although I did good on memorization and application, I made a few dumb mistakes by not reading the questions fully. I’ll continue to study in the same way, spreading out my time over a few different days, but next time I’ll focus more on making good decisions WHILE I’m taking the test.

  20. My goals for the second term in Chemistry are to keep up my average and to take advantage of learning. I want to be able to enjoy learning without simply memorizing it for a test. I’d like to keep my average as high as it is right now and even aim higher if possible.

  21. My goals for the second term in Chemistry are to keep up my average and to take advantage of learning. I want to be able to enjoy learning without simply memorizing it for a test. I’d like to keep my average as high as it is right now and even aim higher if possible. I will achieve these by pushing myself to work hard and taking time to understand each and every topic we study.

  22. My goals for the second term are to bring up my average and have better studying habits! I will do this by not procrastinating and studying differently than I would for other classes. This way I am not just memorizing the materials but really understanding them. (“Don’t just know, know why!”)

  23. My goal for term 2 is to do my best, and remember all of my assignments. I will do this by checking the syllabus regularly, and studying before all tests and quizzes. By doing this, it will also allow my grade to rise compared to this term.

  24. My goal for the second term of chemistry is to achieve as high of a grade as I can. I ultimately want to push myself as much as I can to produce good results.The way I am going to do this is by rewatching the most recent lecture the day it comes out and fixing up my notes.

  25. A goal I have for the second semester is to actually understand the material, rather than just “learning” it to pass the test. Understanding the material will give me a better foundation for the next units to come.

  26. A goal I want to accomplish for the second semester is to bring up my grade from where it was last nine weeks. Even though it wasn’t a bad grade, I know I can do better. I can accomplish this by studying more, and giving it my entire focus.

  27. My goal for this nine weeks is to achieve the best grade I am capable of. My grade last nine weeks wasn’t bad, but I am capable of much more than how I did. I also want to watch the videos to understand anything I don’t get.

  28. My goal for the second 9 weeks is to study better. I sometimes wait till the last minute to study or not study all the material. I’m going to try to look at everything posted to be able to study thoroughly for every upcoming test and try to make As on all of them.

  29. My goal for the second 9 weeks is to study better. I sometimes wait till the last minute to study or not study all the material. I’m going to try to look at everything posted to be able to study thoroughly for every upcoming test and try to make As on all of them.

  30. I am striving to excel in chemistry far more than i did last nine weeks. I want to have a better average and study more for test. Most importantly I want to slap a big star on that wall.

  31. My goal for the 2nd nine-weeks in chemistry is to not procrastinate. I often procrastinate studying and doing homework, so i am very stressed by the time that it comes to do those things. In my calendar, I am going to pre-plan and write when I need to start these working on homework/studying.

  32. My goal for the second nine weeks is to do the best of my ability on all assignments as well as be okay with the grade that I make. This will be achieved by properly planning times to do my assignments and studying enough for every test and quiz. If I do my best consequently I will be more acceptable of my grades.

  33. My goal for this quarter is to study more. I will achieve this by setting aside time everyday to study for chemistry. I hope I will see an increase in my grade because of this.

  34. My goal for second quarter is to make all A’s on my tests and to understand all labs without having to ask many questions. I can achieve this by preparing better and studying more in advance than I was in the first quarter.

  35. This semester i would like to develop better study habits. I crammed the elements quiz all the night before despite being aware of it for the entirety of the prior week. I will combat my bad habits by allocating more time for my work. (assuming the other weeks aren’t as brutal as this one)

  36. I would rate my test performance a 3/5 stars. While I made an acceptable grade I wasn’t happy with what I got. I could have studied more thoroughly over the material. As well as understood what the material was more than only memorized it. In the future I will study to understand over study to know only once for a test.

  37. I rate myself a 3/5 for the chapter 1 test. This was my lowest grade so far, and I wasn’t very pleased with my it even thought it wasn’t necessarily a “bad grade”. Most of what I missed was material I knew but either forgot or remembered incorrectly. I could have taken more time to read over questions and made sure my discussions were thorough.

  38. I would give myself a 3/5 for the chapter 1 test. I wasn’t too disappointed in my score, but I still think I can do better! I improved my studying skills over the past two tests but I still need to tweak them a little. I need to study more application questions in order to improve my test scores!

  39. I would rate myself a 3/5 this week. I did not do as good as I thought I did, even though I could have done better. I can fix this by studying more material and studying longer. I need to especially study application.

  40. I would rate my performance on the test a 3.5/5. I did well at memorizing, but didn’t memorize enough. I did okay in application, but needed to think a bit deeper to get the correct answer.

  41. I would rate myself a 3/5 on my chapter one test. The reason I rate this is because I didn’t do as well as I hoped. Much of my error on the test was due to not explaining well enough, which is something I struggle with on labs as well. I now know I need to explain my procedures in more detail and make sure I’m answering every question completely.

  42. I would rate myself a 3/5 on my chapter one test. The reason I rate this is because I didn’t do as well as I hoped. Much of my error on the test was due to not explaining well enough, which is something I struggle with on labs as well. I now know I need to explain my procedures in more detail and make sure I’m answering every question completely.

  43. I rate myself a 4/5 stars for the Chapter 1 test. I was very proud that I was able to achieve an A on the test, but there were still things I could improve on. For example, I need to answer discussions questions on tests a little better by asking myself “Why?” to every explanation. This would improve my score on the discussion questions.

  44. For the chapter 1 test, I rate myself a 2.5/5. I did not give myself enough time to study, so I did not do as well as I had hoped. I need to think deeper in my discussion. I also need to include more examples and applications in my notes and practice questions with them.

  45. I would give myself a 3/5 on my chapter one test. I gave myself more time to study than I usually do but my grade wasn’t as good ad I would have hope. I plan on studying each topic deeper for the next test.

  46. I rate myself a 4/5 on the chapter 1 test. I made a overall good grade but i think i could definitely do better. I studied pretty thoroughly for this test but just messed up on the discussion questions. To fix this, i will try to go more in depth and make sure to say all the whys and hows.

  47. I would rate myself a 4/5. I did pretty well in the tests. I need to pay more careful attention to include specific details in my discussion answers.

  48. ASK:
    Why is research such an important concept when it comes to any type of Science?

    Research is the way we can deepen our understanding of how the world works and leads to new discovers which give us glimpses into untapped worlds worthy of exploration.

  49. What is the name for the change in states of matter changing from a liquid to a solid?

    This change in sate of matter is called freezing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *