Physics 3-7-22 Overview of Chapter 8

PHYSICS: Pretty decent review today, but last year they wanted to talk about a few more things in depth, and so I thought that might be more helpful for you. For example – the hollow sphere problem. I’m just saying. So here’s a last look at some of the concepts and problems from chapter 8 from last year. And don’t forget about lift!

By the way, if you’re interested, at the end of the vodcast, I did a bit more work with #33 – the hollow sphere. Just some ideas for thought.


flickr photo by Doug Davey

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

18 thoughts on “Physics 3-7-22 Overview of Chapter 8

  1. A struggle I had this week was definitely the test. Most of the time I am able to work all six problems on the test just in case I absolutely bomb one of them, but that wasn’t the case on this test. I definitely don’t feel the best about it, and I’m hoping that my grade is better than I’m predicting it to be. In the future, I will focus more on preparing for the problems in addition to studying the conceptual parts of the chapter.

  2. My struggle for this would be the test. I was not very good when it came to making myself study or review, and I definitely think that will show in my grade. I did not struggle too much conceptually when it came to this chapter; however, I did struggle a lot when it came to the problems. I typically have time to work all 6 and have one as a cushion in case I make a mistake, but that was not the case this time. I did not have time to even complete the required amount of problems which was extremely discouraging. In the future I will try my best not to procrastinate and study the more difficult problems before test day. I will also not ignore the hard problems just because I don’t feel like reworking them.

  3. My triumph for this week is definitely ending the quarter with a B in this class. It ain’t much, but it’s honest work. (This post only applies until Ms. Skinner puts in the last test, in which case I will most likely be failing Physics again. But hey, live in the now, right?)

  4. A success that I had this week was with the AeroLab. Elizabeth and I worked very well together while doing it. On Wednesday when we were getting used to the equipment we had a few mishaps and struggled with some things. However, we were able to recognize what those issues were and fix them quickly. When we did the actual lab on Thursday, Elizabeth and I worked really efficiently and completed the lab with minimal problems.

  5. My struggle for this week was definitely the test. To begin, I struggled finding any motivation or will to study and prepare the way I knew I needed to. When it came to taking the test, I definitely struggled with time. I wasn’t able to complete the test, and had to leave some of it blank due to time, so that kind of stunk. I knew if I just had 5 or 10 more minutes I could’ve definitely improved my score, but it is what it is. I’ve kinda struggled with time on all of the tests this year, so it wasn’t a huge surprise, but it still stinks knowing I could’ve done a little better. I guess I will continue to try and work and practice the problems going at a faster speed, although that doesn’t seem to have helped me that much.

  6. I’d rate myself 20/5 this week solely on the fact I didn’t murder children during the airplane lab. I completely bombed the test but I don’t care because I’m not in prison. If another kid stepped on me and Karis’s plane I think I would’ve been taken a ay in cuffs. So help me, if he even thought about walking through our experiment I would’ve blown a head gasket. That’s all

  7. S – Struggle

    I am going to say that my struggle this week was the test and not the AeroLab because Josh and I were doing really well with the lab until our plane snapped in half thanks to a lovely freshman. Our plane and our system were performing well originally, so I do not want to think of the lab as a struggle as a whole although I do second what Josh mentioned above. For the test, I definitely struggled. As soon as I started taking it, I was like hmm I understand this chapter even less than I realized, which is great. I didn’t have time to attempt all 6 problems, and I ran out of time on one of my discussion questions, so hopefully my current answer is sufficient. I am just praying that I did not fail. To combat this struggle in the future, I am going to study earlier, longer, and harder, and hopefully I will actually have a fraction of time, energy, and will to do so because these past few weeks have been a nightmare in almost every way.

  8. My struggle this week was the test. I studied as much as I could but because of the shows I fell a little bit behind on my work and some concepts may have been a little bit confusing. I think and hope and pray that I still somehow managed a good grade because I sure do need it. But on a brighter note, me and Sean did do pretty good on the aero lab once we found Eric the plane that would actually fly straight.

  9. This week my struggle was definitely the lab that we did at the end of this week. It has definitely been extremely frustrating. On Thursday, we all did the lab wrong and didn’t find that out until the end of the class, and then today we had to start over which was annoying. We will have to finish next week but I think we’re on a better track now.

  10. My struggles this week have been procrastinating on doing the blueprint for the Rube Goldberg project and the bungee jumping egg lab. I had plenty of time during the week to do the blueprint but waited until last night to draw it. In regards to the egg lab, our group did it wrong the first day we had to work on it and repeat our trials again the next day.

  11. I would rate myself a 3.5/5 for this week. I really did nothing spectacular, but I did not mess anything up either. A lot of the stuff we did this week was more conceptual and planning based, and I feel like I did a pretty good job at brainstorming for our Rube Goldberg project. But, I know for a fact that I procrastinated a lot while doing the project blueprint, because I did it last night and struggled with it. Another struggle was the egg lab. My group was having a good time, but we could not seem to figure out what exactly we need to do. So, we will be redoing it this upcoming week.

  12. A struggle I had this week was the egg lab because we all did it entirely wrong

    There’s Hydrogen and Helium
    Then Lithium, Beryllium
    Boron, Carbon everywhere
    Nitrogen all through the air
    With Oxygen so you can breathe
    And Fluorine for your pretty teeth
    Neon to light up the signs
    Sodium for salty times

    [Chorus]
    Magnesium, Aluminium, Silicon
    Phosphorus, then Sulfur, Chlorine and Argon
    Potassium, and Calcium so you’ll grow strong
    Scandium, Titanium, Vanadium and Chromium and Manganese

    [Post-Chorus]
    This is the Periodic Table
    Noble gas is stable
    Halogens and Alkali react aggressively
    Each period will see new outer shells
    While electrons are added moving to the right

    [Verse 2]
    Iron is the 26th
    Then Cobalt, Nickel coins you get
    Copper, Zinc and Gallium
    Germanium and Arsenic
    Selenium and Bromine film
    While Krypton helps light up your room
    Rubidium and Strontium then Yttrium, Zirconium

    [Chorus]
    Niobium, Molybdenum, Technetium
    Ruthenium, Rhodium, Palladium
    Silver-ware then Cadmium and Indium
    Tin-cans, Antimony then Tellurium and Iodine and Xenon and then Caesium and

    [Bridge]
    Barium is 56 and this is where the table splits
    Where Lanthanides have just begun
    Lanthanum, Cerium and Praseodymium
    Neodymium’s next to
    Promethium, then 62’s
    Samarium, Europium, Gadolinium and Terbium
    Dysprosium, Holmium, Erbium, Thulium
    Ytterbium, Lutetium

    [Chorus]
    Hafnium, Tantalum, Tungsten then we’re on to
    Rhenium, Osmium and Iridium
    Platinum, Gold to make you rich ’til you grow old
    Mercury to tell you when it’s really cold
    Thallium and Lead then Bismuth for your tummy
    Polonium, Astatine would not be yummy
    Radon, Francium will last a little time
    Radium then Actinides at 89

    [Post-Chorus]
    This is the Periodic Table
    Noble gas is stable
    Halogens and Alkali react aggressively
    Each period will see new outer shells
    While electrons are to the right

    [Verse 3]
    Actinium, Thorium, Protactinium
    Uranium, Neptunium, Plutonium
    Americium, Curium, Berkelium
    Californium, Einsteinium, Fermium
    Mendelevium, Nobelium, Lawrencium
    Rutherfordium, Dubnium, Seaborgium
    Bohrium, Hassium then Meitnerium
    Darmstadtium, Roentgenium, Copernicium
    Nihonium, Flerovium
    Moscovium, Livermorium
    Tennessine, and Oganesson

    [Outro]
    And then we’re done!

  13. This week we all struggled with the lab. Studying and understanding the lesson is fine, but we really struggled with the application journey during the lab.

  14. My struggles for this week are procrastinating and the bungee jumping egg lab. I kind of put off my Rube Goldberg design until the last night, although I had all week to draw it up and diagram it, but it’s really every class I have procrastinated in. I need to just try and finish out strong. The bungee jumping egg has been difficult so far, and our group has continuously struggled trying to find a way to measure the distance used for the spring constant. After we were told what to do, we still struggled setting it up correctly and plotting out our ideas. All in all, I’ve had a few struggles this week, but nothing I can’t fix for the future

  15. I rate myself a 3.5/5 this week. Given how busy I was trying to do makeup stuff, I feel like I did an ok job this week. I did not pay attention, however, on like any of the spring constant notes because I thought I had just failed my test. Egg lab was not actually too bad, because I felt like I was able to step up and lead my group and know where we were going and what we needed to do. Giving myself a +.5 because I am throwing my guts up right now but I randomly remembered to do my web post B)

  16. I rate myself a 3/5 this week. Nothing spectacular happened that could really affect me so it’s kind of hard to grade. However we did do the Rube Goldberg machine and the egg lab. The Rube Goldberg planning is actually going well and I believe we have really good ideas if we can make them actually happen when we build. And the egg lab is going pretty well all things considered. I think my group is worried we won’t be able to do it but I have faith in us.

  17. R-Rate
    This week I would rate myself a 2/5. I did not fail the test, but I did not do well on it either. For the Rube Goldberg machine, I struggled to come up with different ideas that could possibly work. We definitely all struggled with the bungee egg lab, and to make matters worse, we wasted an entire class doing the procedure incorrectly.

  18. This week I would rate myself a 2/5. I struggled getting back into things, and I didn’t do well in my test. It was hard to come back after two weeks of being gone and take a test over material that was not on the forefront of my mind during those two weeks. Additionally, we didn’t do well the first day on the egg drop lab.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *