Chemistry 11-12-14 Molar Mass, Moles & Avogadro’s Number

CHEMISTRY: So how many water molecules do you think are in this drop? And now you know how to find out!!

Here’s the lecture from today on molar mass, and then using molar mass and Avogadro’s number as a conversion factor. You did a great job on thinking through the problems! Now go forth and practice them so you don’t forget!

Homework clarification: On the homework that is due Friday, if the questions involve math, you can just do b and c. And don’t forget the thLAB!! Be sure and read it now so you can get supplies!

CHEMISTRY 11-12-14 Molar Mass, Moles & Avogadro’s Number from Tammy Skinner on Vimeo.

flickr photo by ecstaticist

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

45 thoughts on “Chemistry 11-12-14 Molar Mass, Moles & Avogadro’s Number

  1. It was really helpful when you went over homework with us in class. It helps me to better understand what mistakes I made and what I can do to fix them.

  2. I really enjoyed doing the thLab: Average Atomic Mass Simulation. I learned that scientists actually add up many of the same elements and divide it by the amount of elements there are in order to get the average mass. I was surprised to learn that they do this since finding the mass of one small atom would be very complicated.

  3. This week as been tough but beyond that I have learnt that I should be faster when taking my tests. I have also gotten better in Q formulas.

  4. Going over the test today in class helped me to see the mistakes I made. It also helped me to know what I should do different to study in the future.

  5. This week in class it really helped working and reviewing all the problems with homework. I was able to see my mistakes. Thanks!

  6. I had never heard of Avogrado’s number 6.022×10 23rd power which is used to find the average atomic mass of any element in grams 🙂

  7. Going over the test today really helped me understand the questions I missed and what I did wrong. On most of the problems I just made a carless mistake. Going into the future, I know how to prepare for these tests and what to study for. Also, going over the homework helped me understand better how to find the average atomic mass of any element or compound.

  8. Thank you for taking the time to go over any questions we have with the homework. It helps me to understand what I did wrong.

  9. This has been an interesting weeks! The labs have been fun and they’ve really shown me the difference between ions of different charges as well as moles of chalk in my name and the percent of gum I ate. Thanks for helping us this week with the different activities!

  10. I’ve really enjoyed all the activities we have done this week, especially the lab about Iron (II) and Iron (III)! It was really cool to see how they reacted so differently, even though they are both iron. The lab today was also fun, because who doesn’t love chewing gum?

  11. The thlab helped me learn how to calculate the average mass of something. I can now use it for other things I want to average out.

  12. I learned so much in the lab this week. I had never considered how to measure the mass of something as small as a grain of rice, other than with a measuring cup.

  13. I rate myself a 3 this week because I still need to fully memorize my polyatomic ions to apply the ions into the formulas.

  14. I triumphed this week after successfully completing the iron ions lab. With your help, I was able to successfully apply the knowledge I know about ions to create six different compounds. I was also able to use the information I found out to determine the difference between ions and to realize that this difference is important because ions with different charges can make or break new compounds. Thanks so much for teaching us about this!

  15. My triumph this week was completing all of the labs we had to do. The one I had the most triumph on was the polymer lab. I was able to complete it very well because my group multitasked properly and I read the lab before we started.

  16. I would rate myself 4 out of 5 stars this week. I set a goal to get an 80 on my chemistry test and made a 78 although that’s not an 80 I feel very confident that I can fix the mistakes I made and get an 80 or above next time!

  17. I would rate myself as a 4.5 on the polymer lab. I would give myself this because I stayed on task and worked in a very efficient manner with Blake. We finished the steps on time as required also.

  18. I would rate myself a 1 because i still dont have the polyatomic ions memorized and have trouble writing out the chemical formulas.

  19. I would rate myself a 4 for this week because i just made careless mistakes on the questions i missed on the test and i made a grade that i am happy with.

  20. This week I give myself a 2 because I’m still struggling to remember all the polyatomic ions needed. I will continue to study until I can remember them!

  21. I think I would rate myself a 4/5 for this week, because I was able to figure out all of the labs we had to work on, but it didn’t come quickly to me. The polymer lab was by far the most interesting to me.

  22. Thank you Ms. Skinner for taking the time to let us go back over our tests and helping us find our mistakes. It helps me to understand the stuff I never really understood to begin with!

  23. I rate this week 6.5/10 because it was a good week because we learned new material and saw our tests to see what we needed to work on.

  24. I struggled with learning average atomic mass but through the average atomic mass take home lab, I learned how to calculate average atomic mass.

  25. This week I learned from the lesson how to calculate formula mass using the Q formula and also I learned how to calculate the molar mass.

  26. I give myself 4 stars for the percent composition of sugar in gum lab yesterday. I was pretty close to the actual amount but not on the money.

  27. When we first started learning how to convert mass into moles, I struggled with it a little bit, but after you explained it and we practiced it, I finally understood how to do it.

  28. This week I had difficulty understanding the formulas and homework, but when I got to class and we were checking the papers I learned from my simole mistakes. Getting to go over the test helped me realized all of the silly mistakes such as negative and positive signs, and a few other things regarding memorization. Therefore I would give myself a 3.5/5 this week.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *