Happy New Year 2017!!

Happy New Year!! Aren’t you glad that God gives us a chance to start all over again?

We are going to have an awesome 2nd semester!! I’m praying that God will use this semester to help get you ready for the incredibly wonderful things in has for you in the future!! And more than that, I pray that this year you’ll grow more than any other in your walk with our Lord Jesus. I pray that you’ll be determined to follow Him, no matter if you have to walk by yourself.

I can promise you – Jesus will never forsake you!

Happy New Year!!

“And they that know thy name will put their trust in thee: for thou, LORD, hast not forsaken them that seek thee.” Psalm 9:10

….”I have decided to follow Jesus. No turning back, no turning back. Though none go with me, I still will follow. No turning back, no turning back.” John Clark

buds in snow
flickr photo by to.wi

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

35 thoughts on “Happy New Year 2017!!

  1. I enjoyed the Brain Games video this week. It taught me that I can not trust my brain or focus on multiple things at once. It proved that the ability to multitask is not as efficient as I had thought. It was very interesting!

  2. I thought that the video we watched in Chemistry was life changing! I learned so much from it! Watching this video, I realized that I do not focus on the big picture, and I often get distracted! In the beginning, it was very hard for me to observe everything, but by the end I started to pick up on it. This information can be applied to everyday life, and I am going to be more careful from now on while I am multi-tasking!

    • This week I thought I learned a lot from the brain games DVD. It taught me about the brain in more depth and explained why the brain works in different ways. It also taught me that I am not as great of a multi-tasked as I had thought. Overall, it changed my perspective of how I view chemistry.

  3. Application: The Brain Games videos this week were both interesting and eye-opening! Through watching the videos and playing along with the challenges, I learned that I wasn’t anywhere near as observant and attentive to detail as I thought I was. Although I’ve known for a while that I’m not a good multitasker, these examples reinforced that fact and reminded me that when I’m trying to do something important, I need to minimize distractions in order for me to efficiently complete that task.

  4. This week was pretty rough coming back to school after the holiday, but I thought the brain games DVD was a real eye opener and a nice way of getting back into school. I learned that in fact I can not multitask like I thought I could. I realized that I could only do multiple things, but I had to do each task one at a time. I also realized that I can focus so much on one thing that I completely miss something that happened right in front of me!

  5. Rate: 5/5
    This week even though we did no written work, I feel as though this week I really not only understood the material, but also enjoyed the lesson too. Although it was not exactly work, and more so fun, the information I learned from the video itself was very insightful and interesting. This week I discovered more information about my study habits and how my thought to be great skill of multitasking, could actually be false, and that I may need to rethink my setup when studying for now on. With just coming back for the 2nd semester this week has been a really nice transition into the next semester’s lesson plan.

  6. This week I would rate myself as 4/5. Even though we only had two days of school, I feel that I payed attention well to the tasks we did, and that I stayed on top of my homework. This week was shorter than I expected, but I still tried to achieve my goal for this year in chemistry: to become a more-well-rounded student. I tried to do this by not asking as many questions about the lab or homework, and first trying to answer the guestionsbI had on my own. Thus, this week I tried to work towards my class goal for the new year, and it ended with very good results to my efforts.

  7. This week I learned through the Brain Games DVD that my mind isn’t paying as much attention as I thought. My mind actually will focus on one thing and miss others. Through learning from the DVD I’m going to attempt to be attentive to my surroundings and attempt to see more background changes than I normally wound notice

  8. This week I rate myself a 5/5 because I learned something knew about how my brain works in the video we watched. I know now that multitasking is not as efficient as I thought. And our brains can only focus on one thing at a time.

  9. This week, I would rate myself a 5/5, because I interacted quite well with the brain games DVD, and learned much about multitasking abilities and capabilities.

  10. This week I would rate myself a 5/5. We only had 2 days this week and we watched brain games. I learned a lot about my brain and how your brain pays attention to certain things and can not multitask very well. I am looking forward to a great 2nd semester and to keep on growing as a chemistry student!

  11. This week in Chemistry we watched the Brain Games video and did the worksheet Brain Games Activity 1. I thought the video was very interesting because it showed the different ways in which our minds work. It also showed how we process different material in different areas of our brain. We were also able to participate in some of the games, which showed how we can be so focused on one thing that we were unaware of other things that happened in the game, like scene changes.

  12. This week in chemistry I learned how I really can’t trust my brain and to check myself with every lab, test, and homework I do. I really enjoyed the video and I think this will stick with me and I will remember it and have the video as a reminder to check my work.

  13. The Brain Games video we watched this week was fun and informative.I enjoyed participating in the games as well. I learned that you can always trust your brain and its hard to give 2 things your full attention.

  14. This week in Chemistry we watched a brain games video that made me learn a lot about my brain, paying attention, and noticing details. I learned that we might think that we are great multitaskers, but we can only really focus on one thing at a time. I also learned that the things that we see are like a “spotlight” and our brains can fill in details to what we want them to be. I particitpated in the games and it caused me to learn how we can only focus on one thing at a time.

  15. This week in chemistry I learned how the Brain functions in different parts. I also learned how it is more difficult to drive while you were on your phone.
    This week I would rate myself 4/5

  16. I learned from the brain games that your brain will deceive you. I also learned that we can’t multitask. I enjoyed watching the episode.

  17. This week we watched brain games and I learned how the brain works in different parts. Ialso learned how it is more difficult to drive while talking on the phone. I would rate myself 4/5.

  18. this week in chemistry i would rate myself a 5/5! i did very well with brain games. i learned a lot about my brain that before i did not know!!! i did not really have a struggle this week because of the snow day. i can improve on paying attention to my surroundings like the video says

  19. This week I would rate myself 5/5 the brain games really helped to get back into the swing of things, I felt like I did really good with the homework assigned

  20. This week in chemistry I would rate myself a 4/5. I really enjoyed the brain games video and playing along with it. I learned that we don’t always pay attention to everything around us and we focus on one thing usually. I also learned that we can’t multi task.

  21. This week in chemistry, we watched the Brain Games episode “Pay Attention”. As we watched we also played along with some of the games and tests being run in the video. I learned sometimes your brain tricks you and you cannot give full focus on more than one thing at a time and sometimes will miss things that are in plain sight.

  22. These two days I learned that we are not the good observers we think we are. The video taught me about how the brain focuses on one thing at a time and misses details of the big picture. I rate myself a 5/5

  23. In this very very short week of chemistry, I was proved wrong multiple times. That video tricked me over and over and over. However, it did put some things into perspective, one being that we as humans get so tied up with one thing that we aren’t able to observe things going on around us causing us to miss out on the big picture sometimes. I would rate myself but we didn’t really do any activities other than participating in the investigations of the tv show and I failed horribly so maybe I’ll do better next time.

  24. I rate myself a 5/5 for this week. The Brain Games were fun to watch and very interesting. I learned that I can’t multitask as well as I thought I could. I also realized that I have more than likely missed some things because I was focusing on one thing.

  25. This week I had fun watching Brain Games. I learned that our brains can’t focus on more than one thing at a time. My goal for this semester in chemistry is to become more organized and not miss turning in any assignments.

  26. I’ve watched Brain Games in the past, but it was really cool to actually apply it to chemistry and my learning. It’s given me a lot to think about! I’m very thankful to have had such a calm week to ease into the second semester, and also for an extra day off.

  27. This week in chemistry I learned to never go with what your brain tells you. When we watched the brain games I realized how much your brain can trick you. I also realized that I need to make sure to double check all my work.

  28. This week I really enjoyed the brain games video. I learned so much about different sections of the brain and how they work and respond do different stimuli. I also learned a lot about your attention and how you can only focus on only one thing at a time. I’m so exited to watch the next episodes later this year and learn more.

  29. I really enjoyed the video we watched this week. I loved seeing how our brain reacts to obvious changes, even though they’re so obvious sometimes we don’t notice them. In addiction to the video being interesting, it was a good thing to start with after a break.

  30. This week I enjoyed watching brain games. I thought it was interesting and learned that your brain has multiple different parts that concentrate on different things at different times. My goal this semester is to pass.

  31. This week was a fun one in Chemistry. The triumph I had was paying good attention and playing along with the Brain Games. I didn’t have any struggles for the week. I would rate myself a 5/5!

  32. Even with the short week I have learned a lot about the brain and how it works. It shows just how much we can miss when focusing on one thing. The video taught me to focus on other things so I don’t miss anything

  33. This week I would rate myself a 5/5. I enjoyed watching the brain games and learning more about how our brains work.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *