Chemistry 11-12-15 Molecular Formulas

CHEMISTRY: Hey guys! Awesome job with empirical formulas, and now you’ve conquered writing molecular formulas! It’s just like writing empirical formulas but with a twist at the end!

By the way, if you’d like some practice or if you have questions, holler and we can have a help session!

We are getting very close to the end of the chapter! Have you started preparing for the test? It will be over ALL of chapter – plus the small bit from chapter 3. Be sure and checked out the Stuff to Know sheet for all of chapter 7 on Edline!

Chemistry 11-12-15 Molecular Formulas from Tammy Skinner on Vimeo.

flickr photo by Sebastian Mary

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

31 thoughts on “Chemistry 11-12-15 Molecular Formulas

  1. This week was a triumph for me. The empirical formula, formula mass, and molecular mass was all easy to understand and i got all of my homework problems correct. I am proud of myself for understanding chemistry!!

  2. Molecular formulas and empirical formulas aren’t that bad I am doing really well on them, its just when you do them in class then do them at home, its like a whole different ball game, but im coming along and things are getting a lot easier now.

  3. This week has gone I think really well. I think I understand the concept of the empirical and the molecular formulas while I worked the homework problems this week. I rate myself a 4/5 this week due to my effectiveness on homework problems and overall understanding of the material. Looking forward to building on what I know and learning more next week

  4. Rate- I rate myself a 5 out of 10 this week I had a little trouble at first with the molecular formulas but after practicing them I feel better about them.

  5. I am very happy that I understand empirical formulas and molecular formulas. other than all the step the problems are quite easy. I am so thankful for be able to understand this , material this week. Chemistry has been an uphill battle from the beginning for me and this week has been more of a small hill .Thank you Ms.Skinner for putting up me and my seemingly endless list of questions. Thank for caring so much about us and praying for us . I really believe God put you and Chemistry in my life to teach me many life lesson for the future.

  6. I rate myself a 6 out of 10 this week i had trouble at first on the homework but when we went over it in class i understood.

  7. Even though I wasn’t here for most of the week, I was able to watch the recordings of class and still learn what I needed to. I rate myself a 9 out of 10 because I understand ed everything and really enjoyed it! I think one thing I need to work on is making sure to type in all of the calculations correctly. Most of the mistakes I made were because of user error when it came down to it. I’ll make sure to practice over the weekend.

  8. I rate myself a 4/5 this week because i understood all of the material in calculating empirical and molecular formulas and i was able to apply it very well. I was able to complete the gum lab quickly because i understood how to apply the percent composition formula to the problem.

  9. This week, I learned how to do empirical formulas. I think I picked it up quickly. I would rate myself a 4 out of 5 because I struggled a bit at the beginning of the week. The percent composition lab taught me a lot about how to calculate certain problems. I’m glad we had a lot of time to practice everything we learned!

  10. This week I learned how to do empirical formulas. I would rate myself a 4/5 this week because I picked up how to do the problems quickly. I was also able to finish my gum lab quickly because I understood how to do the problems good.

  11. I give myself 5 out of 5 stars this week because I may not have done well on the pre test as I wished I had. But I did well on the empirical formulas and the molecular formulas. I finally understand!!

  12. I would rate myself a 4 out of 5 this week because I did very well on the empirical formulas and understood it well. Also my lab partner and I did very well on the percent composition gum lab!

  13. This week we learned about empirical formulas. I would say that the hardest part about empirical formulas is remembering the formula. I would give myself a 9 out of 10 on remembering the formula only because i forgot the last step on the homework. We also did a lab that involved chewing gum which we do not get to do often at our school so that was fun.

  14. I would rate myself a 3 out of 5 this week. I really understood the empirical formula and feel confident about that. The thing I really need to work on is memorizing all the different compounds, polyatomic ions and common substances. Once I get all those I think I will do much better.

  15. I actually like learning about the formulas, because I’m a math brained person. I have a feeling this will be one of the easier chapters for me. I would rate myself at a 4 out of 5 this week because I have been talking in class and picking up it very well. I have had a little bit of problems on my homework.

  16. The triumph this week is that I got my most of my homework problems right and it didn’t take me as long to do my homework. This week we had to apply what we learned about empirical formulas into the lab we were working on today. We also have to apply what we learned about the chemical formulas to be able to do the empirical formulas and the molecular formulas and the percent composition formulas.

  17. This week I learned how to use the empirical formula. I struggled when first learning how to do empirical problems, but I just continued to work the problems while referring to my notes to make sure I was doing the problems correctly. So, I would rate myself a 4 out of 5 for overcoming this problem.

  18. This week in chemistry learning how to use the empirical formula was pretty easy to understand. At first I had to use my notes to help me but as I worked the problems it became a lot easier. I would rate myself a 4 out of 5 for this week.

  19. This week i feel that I did well on both of the take home labs as well as the new formulas. I like doing this section because it is similar to algebra. I would rate myself 4/5 stars this week.

  20. This week I enjoyed having labs that were easy and fun. I also feel like I know how to use empirical and molecular formulas well. I’d give myself 4/5

  21. This week I learned how to use the Emperical formula. I didn’t understand it at first but after working a few I got the hang of it. I would rate myself a 4 out of 5 for this week.

  22. This week I would rate myself 5/5. I feel really good about the empirical formula. I enjoyed doing the take home labs and look foward to next week.

  23. This week I liked that we had a simple lab considering we had so much math to learn. I also liked how you went over some of our homework with us so we would know exactly how we messed up. I did a lot better on the math this week than I did last week. I rate myself a 4/5.

  24. at first when we started doing empirical and molecular formulas, i thought that they would be hard. then, i realized that they are just a lot of work.

  25. This week I feel like I did really well on the math considering I had trouble remembering to do some of my homework .I liked how we had a simpler lab this week and how you explained everything. I rate myself a 4/5.

  26. This week, I rate myself a 4 out of 5. While it was difficult at first, I have grown accustom to empirical formulas, and a general transition back to math. Overall, I feel like this week has laid a firm foundation to build upon throughout the year!

  27. This week I would rate myself 4 out of 5. I understood most of what we were learning and I easily applied it while doing homework. I really enjoyed the percent of sugar in gum lab, its the only time I have ever been allowed to chew gum in class!

  28. This week I give myself a 4/5. I felt like i did very well on homework with the percent composition and empirical formulas. I missed a couple problems for rounding when I’m not suppose to but I feel very good about all of this now. I feel like I did good on the take home lab figuring out how much sugar is in game and also using percent error again

  29. This week in chemistry we reviewed the Q Formula. I enjoyed this week because it was mostly math which I like. I believe with a little more practice I’ll be able to do convert quickly. I give myself 5 stars for this week.

  30. This week in chemistry I learned how to find imperical and molecular formulas. I picked it up fairly quickly. I thought the gum lab was really interesting. I struggled a little with starting on my vLab today and getting logged on, but I look forward to getting a better start! I would rate myself a 4 out of 5 for this week.

  31. This week as we worked more and more on the chemical formulas it became alot easier and the notes we took were really easy to understand.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *