Hon Chemistry 10-16-15 Binary Molecular Formulas

HON CHEMISTRY: Okay, I’m not saying that learning to name and write chemical formulas is as bad as a jellyfish sting (you’ll get that in a minute!), but you do have to really, really pay attention to the details!! Here’s our discussion on writing formulas and names for binary molecular compounds. Part of it’s really similar to what you learned to do for ionic compounds, don’t you think? The other part is totally different, though!

Make sure you keep everything straight. Find a way to organize all the information for yourself so you won’t get confused. Also, don’t forget the lists you have to memorize – chemical names for common substances, polyatomic ions, acids, and numerical prefixes. And practice, practice, practice!!!

And did I mention polyatomic ions…..??

HON CHEMISTRY 10-20-14 Binary Molecular Formulas from Tammy Skinner on Vimeo.

Image source casch52

________________________________________________

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

4 thoughts on “Hon Chemistry 10-16-15 Binary Molecular Formulas

  1. This week I struggled with learning all the compounds and using the stock system but after a lot of practice I got pretty good at it. The triump for the this week was getting good at using the stock system to find out how many of each element are in a compound. I would give myself a 3/5 this week because I feel like I did good using the stock system but I forgot to do my homework.

  2. This week I learned the formulas of different ionic compounds. I felt that I succeeded in crossing over and using prefixes and the stock system to name the compounds. I think learning them will be beneficial for this class.

  3. Struggle: This week I struggled with makeing element formulas. To get better I am going to practice tons, study my formulas more, and study my elements also.

  4. I really struggled this week trying to learn how to name chemical formulas. I was confused at first but after working problems on it I started to get the hang of it. I look forward to improving this next week on this.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *