Hon Chemistry 5-4-23 Molecular Geometry

HON CHEMISTRY: Who knew we’d be doing geometry in chemistry?!? Great job today! Lewis structures, multiple bonds, resonance, polyatomic ions, and now molecular geometry. Wow, that’s a lot you’ve conquered in the last few days!!

Molecular geometry is super easy. Make sure you know how to draw Lewis structures, then determine the type of ABE structure and you’ve got it. Here’s a copy of Molecular Geometry Shapes – VSEPR handout. Be sure and memorize the shape and the ABE structure that goes with it. Easy-peazy!

Here’s some good advice – don’t take shortcuts. Learn the proper steps on the easier molecules, and you’ll be able to do the hard ones. And if it’s still all Greek to you, don’t worry! Keep practicing and you’ll get it, I promise!! Don’t forget to count electrons and don’t forget CONS!


flickr photo by Ron Layters

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

7 thoughts on “Hon Chemistry 5-4-23 Molecular Geometry

  1. My struggle for this week is keeping going considering how many days of school we have left. I am trying to pay attention but I am ready to be done. I do this by trying to pay attention.

  2. This week I struggled with understanding some of the concepts we learned in class. I overcame this by asking many questions and diligently doing my homework.

  3. One struggle I had this week is focusing. I was off my medicine and not getting enough sleep. I will fix this by making sure to get proper sleep.

  4. This week I struggled with getting my homework done and staying focused. With school almost being out I’m trying to stay focus and finish strong.

  5. This week I struggled with motivation to pay attention and do my work. I have been really tired this week. I have been procrastinating homework and haven’t been focusing as well as I usually do. To prevent this from getting worse or happening more, I have been trying to get more sleep.

  6. My struggle this week has been staying focused and not letting my grades slack because it’s the end of the year. I need to finish string so I can finish with good grades.

  7. This week I struggled with staying positive about my grades. Sometimes it’s hard to feel like you’re enough when you’re watching everyone around achieve A++ on everything they do. This is definitely something an honor student can experience because everyone always does amazing, but through this time, I’ve taken a step back and realigned my priorities because what I hold valuable can’t be found on pen and paper, but in my heart.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *