Hon Chemistry 11-1-22 Binary Molecular Formulas

HON CHEMISTRY: No audio on today’s vodcast, so here’s the same lesson from last year. Start it at about 11:24. One thing that’s not on this list is the info on binary and oxyacids that you’ll need to memorize and know for this year. You can find the list of these acids here on the class website under the worksheet tab.

So I’m not saying that learning to name and write chemical formulas is as bad as a jellyfish sting (you’ll get that in a minute!), but you do have to really, really pay attention to the details!! Here’s our discussion on writing formulas and names for binary molecular compounds. Part of it’s really similar to what you learned to do for ionic compounds, don’t you think? The other part is totally different, though!

Make sure you keep everything straight. Find a way to organize all the information for yourself so you won’t get confused. Also, don’t forget the lists you have to memorize – chemical names for common substances, polyatomic ions, acids, and numerical prefixes. And practice, practice, practice!!!


Image source casch52

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

9 thoughts on “Hon Chemistry 11-1-22 Binary Molecular Formulas

  1. A struggle I had this week was applying the material we were learning right after we had learned it. It took me some time to figure out how to balance the formulas or understand why I’m multiplying superscripts. The application was tough at first, but now I’m getting the hang of it!

  2. This week I have struggled with time management and waiting till the last minute. When it came to my lab report it took more time than I originally thought it would, so I felt rushed while finishing it. In the future I’ve learned to start assignments early in case they take longer than I expect.

  3. Lately I’ve struggled with procrastination. At the beginning of the year, I was very good at being on top of things, but recently, I’ve done everything very last minute. I procrastinated my lab report which resulted in unnecessary stress. I’m changing my ways by completing my work ahead of time, so I don’t put too much work on one night.

  4. My struggle this week was remembering all of the steps/rules that go along with what we have learned recently. Right after we learned how to write names or formulas I was a little confused about knowing what exactly to do. But with lots of practice (homework, TPC, science geek, rereading my notes, etc.) I was able to go through the problems step by step and fully understand them!

  5. A struggle I had this week was applying the material we were learning right after we had learned it. It took me some time to figure out how to balance the formulas or understand why I’m multiplying superscripts. The application was tough at first, but now I’m getting the hang of it! In the future, I am going to practice application at home so I’m better equipped in class.

  6. A struggle I had this week was understanding and remembering all the steps that come with balancing formulas, when prefixes are to be used, and everything else we’ve learned lately. A way I got better at this was by constantly practicing and reading/memorizing my notes.

  7. This week I have struggled with studying for my quiz in advance. Although I have been getting a lot of in class practice, there is still memorization I need to know. To fix this problem, I printed out the sheets with information I need to memorize, and I have been periodically looking them over throughout each day.

  8. This week I have struggled with being ready for stuff this week like the lab on Monday I looked over it but wasn’t really prepared for it I should have highlighted it.

  9. My struggle this week has been studying and completing work in advance. I fell behind earlier this week and hadn’t been studying as much. To fix my problem, I have since then fixed this by marking up a planner again and studying more.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *