Physics 9-27-22 Relative Motion

PHYSICS – Great discussion of relative motion today! You know, we’ve done most of this already. The only new part is the motion of objects in the same direction and opposite directions, relative to each other.

Don’t forget, you’ll use what you learned about vector addition to work those “boat goes across a river” and “plane experiences a head wind” types of problems.

In case you want them, here are the answers to tonight’s problems.

41. a. 70 m/s east
b. 20 m/s
43. a. 10.1 m/s at 8.53° east of north
b. 48.8 m
44. a. 14.1° north of west
b. 199 km/h
45. 7.5 min
46. a. 23.2° upstream from straight across
b. 8.72 m/s across the river
50. a. 22.2 s
b. 2.00 × 102 s
52. 22.5 s
54. 70. s


flickr photo by raysto

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

11 thoughts on “Physics 9-27-22 Relative Motion

  1. This week i struggled with staying focused in class, i was very tired this week. i will try to get more sleep next week after the play is over.

  2. This week I have struggled in other classes before physics which has made it very hard to focus on certain days. I am going to try to get better at managing my time outside of class to get better at being able to complete every assignment for every class.

  3. This week I struggled with balancing homework and swim practice. I have had quite a bit of schoolwork this week, on top of doing service hours for National Honors Society, so I’ve had to miss practice this week in order to catch up on some stuff. To help with this, I will try my best to use my study hall to my advantage instead of using it to relax a bit.

  4. This week my struggle has been finishing all my work. I have been very busy all week long which has made it difficult to find time for school work. I have been able to finish everything that was due, but I still have a lot to do this weekend. My plan is to finish all my work and then stay ahead of my work next week when I am not as busy.

  5. My struggle this week was not being able to stay alert in class because I have not getting enough sleep. I will improve this by the play ending and having a less busy schedule. In the future, I will work around a busy schedule to more prioritize sleep.

  6. This week my triumph was getting done with my homework and knowing why the answer is what they are; I am also almost done with my lab reports and the science in the news extra credit. I am very proud of that because of how this week has been going for me. I have been using my time to do homework and other stuff. I have also been working and reworking the problem, not dealing with graphing to get an answer close to the actual answer. I also exchanged caffeine for sleep this week.

  7. This week I rate myself a 4/5 because I was able to learn and apply both angular projectile motion and regular projectile motion. Also, the lab this week went smoothly.

  8. My triumph for the week was understanding the concepts taught in class. I felt like I grasped the lessons well, so hopefully I will be able to build on them next week.

  9. This week was very fun for multiple reasons. The activity on Wednesday was extremely interesting, and it was cool to see an application of a physics concept in the real world. Learning the material was also very interesting because of the entire class interaction and discussion throughout the whole process. These discussions even made it easier to understand the concepts because I could understand everyone’s thoughts and perspective for each problem we worked.

  10. This week I rate myself a 3 out of 5 stars. I take off two points for falling behind on homework and having to stress do it before class. I give myself the other 3 points because I was able to finish my homework and understand it mostly. I also thought I did an extremely good job on directing traffic with Maddie, so I will add an extra bonus point changing it to a 4 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *