Hon Chemistry 3-1-21 Applications of Radioactivity, Pt. 2 and Fission & Fusion

HON CHEMISTRY: Hey guys! Here’s the laaaaast of the chapter. I found an old vodcast that combined the notes from Friday and today and have posted it below for your review. How are you studying? Be careful and don’t take the test for granted! And don’t forget to check out the the Chapter 21 Stuff to Know & sheet.

Make sure you keep practicing half-life problems and nuclear equations. Also, make sure you’ve memorize the nuclear symbols for alpha particles, beta particles, positrons, neutrons, and protons. And then there are tons of notes on the conceptual stuff. Properties of radioactivity, people, types of radioactive decay, applications of radioactivity, definitions, definitions, and definitions!

FYI – This is a pic of a test used to check on blood flow through the heart during a stress test. Fun, huh!?

So what’s this about you probably having an radioactive isotope in your house?!? Don’t forget to research how smoke detectors, especially those with Americium, work!


Image source http://www.cedars-sinai.edu

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

14 thoughts on “Hon Chemistry 3-1-21 Applications of Radioactivity, Pt. 2 and Fission & Fusion

  1. This week in chemistry I struggled with figuring out how to properly show work for a half-life problem. In order to combat this struggle, I enlisted the help of friends, did an overwhelming amount of practice problems and compared the work I showed to the work we did in class, and ultimately just trusted myself.

  2. I struggled getting the popsicle stick lab to start and I fixed it by trying again and again to understand nuclear reactors

  3. This week I struggled with remembering how to do a graph on spreadsheets. To fix this, I went back and watched the instructional video and looked at my past spreadsheet graphs.

  4. This week I struggled to put the popsicle sticks under and over them. Then I tried a different way where I put them in at a angle where it would slide into place.

  5. I struggled with not procrastinating on the lab report, knowing that I had a whole week to finish it. Fixing this I worked in tiny sections throughout the week so that I would not be overwhelmed to do it in one night.

  6. This week I struggled to get started on my lab write up. I had time to do it earlier in the week but I didn’t really feel like doing it, so I didn’t start until thursday night. I will try to do assignments earlier in the week if I have time so I won’t have to much to do at the end of the week.

  7. This week I struggled with letting myself get more stressed than I should’ve. Although a little stress can be a good motivator, too much can cause your work to be inadequate. To combat this, I worked on my lab report a few days in advance so that I would not have as much to do later in the week, and this really helped bring my overall stress level down.

  8. This week I struggled with worrying that I didn’t know enough for the test even though I had prepared and studied it for it. So, to solve this problem, I did review games and book problems to test to see how much I actually knew and what to work on.

  9. this week one of my main struggles was remembering how to do the graph on google sheets. to figure this out, i got advice from friends and overall just managed to figure it out from some prior knowledge.

  10. My struggle this week was trying to study for the test, which had a lot more focus on memorization rather than calculations. To help with this, I used the student premium resources on the online book and studied some quizlets to aid with the memorization.

  11. This week I struggled with taking good thorough notes in class I blame this on my lack of drive this week I defineitly did not take this week seriously enough so next week I plan on staying very focused in class and pushing through no matter how close spring break might be.

  12. This week I struggled with my mindset for studying for the test. I easily became unfocused which lead to me being discouraged and my overall efficiency then began to decline. To fix this, I will find ways to make my studying more engaging for myself along with giving myself evenly distributed breaks so I don’t become quickly overwhelmed.

  13. This week, I mainly struggled with time management of my school work and other events due to the busy schedule that filled my week. I went to bed late every single night, which ultimately caused me to be tired throughout each day. To conquer this problem, I will make sure to complete school work early and I will make sure to get more sleep to help attain a focused and awake mindset at all times.

  14. This week, I struggled with procrastinating on my lab report. I had plenty of time to complete it earlier in the week, yet I still procrastinated. To prevent this from occurring again, I will make sure that I start on it earlier in the week whenever I do not have a weekend to work on it. I also struggled with being careless on the test, which led me to lose a couple of easy points. On the next test, I will make sure that I quickly double check my thinking instead of hastily moving on to the next question.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *