7 thoughts on “Physics 2-1-21 Circular Motion

  1. Although I understood the concepts of circular motion this week, I did have a few struggles. The main thing I struggled with this week was the centripetal force lab. I understood the concepts being performed in the lab, but my partner and I struggled with performing the experiment. We struggled with keeping the system of the tube and string balanced in the air as it was in a circular motion, and we struggled with keeping the radius length constant as we whirled it through the air. To overcome our struggle, we adjusted the initial radius length in order for us to have enough power to keep the system balanced as we added more mass to the bottom of the string. Once we changed our initial measurements, we were able to gather the data. Although the lab was initially a struggle, we figured out a way to modify the experiment in order for us to perform it correctly and obtain data. Once we completed the lab, it was very insightful in how all the components related to circular motion and centripetal force work together and affect each other. Overall, this has been a good week, but I plan to continue to look over the concepts of the lab to make sure I fully understand everything that created problems. Also, I plan to begin studying more for the test over these concepts.

  2. This week, I rate myself a 3/5. I have worked ahead on all my homework, and we finished the lab in one day. I have not started writing up my labs yet, but I plan to do that soon. I like circular motion better than torques. I need to refresh my memory of torques because today when we were going over problems, I couldn’t figure out how to do them right away. Overall, this has been a tiring week, but it has also been a good week for learning.

  3. I rate myself a 3/5 this week. I have been able to understand circular motion without too many issues, and I have been able to better understand some of the torque problems from last week. However, I think I need to go over them again to make sure I don’t forget how to do them. My group did not have too much trouble with the centripetal force lab, which I was very thankful for! I also worked ahead on all of my homework this week, so I didn’t end up having to do homework at home at all this week! I hope to keep this up because not having to worry about school while at home really helped me to decompress and rest! I have noticed that I have had less motivation, so I hope that this does not affect my performance in school in the coming weeks!

  4. i rate myself a 3/5 this week. I think i’m understanding circular motion and i need to look back over torques. The lab was quite a struggle, not with concepts but in the actual execution. My lab partner and I solved this by adjusting our radius lengths to one that were more manageable for us. I have stayed on top of homework and plan to try and work ahead some this weekend.

  5. This week I would rate myself a 4/5. I feel like I have a good grasp on circular motion, and I have already completed the problems from the first worksheet. However, I am a little bit nervous that I won’t understand the problems on the second worksheet. Our lab went relatively well, even though we had to come back to finish it during seventh period. I am going to try to get as far ahead as possible this weekend to lighten the load over the next few weeks.

  6. In the past few weeks, scientists have been researching how certain species of spiders have been able to pull prey up to 50x their own weight into the web. The spiders were able to do this by attaching many strands to the prey and pulling on the strands in a pully-like system to slowly lift the prey. The spiders were also determined to be using different chemical combinations in their webs, depending on the intended use of the strand.

  7. I’ll rate myself a 4/5 this week. For starters, I am glad that we managed to complete the lab on time. As for the problems, there is work that needs to be done, but I can say with pride that I easily solved the carnival ride problem. I will do my best to prepare for next week’s test.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *