Hon Chemistry 9-24-20 Lab Safety & Procedures

HON CHEMISTRY: Wow! Great video, but do you feel like you have information overload!?

Here is the lab safety video we watched in class. It does have a ton of info, and the thing is, you absolutely must know it – and not just for the test, but also throughout the year in lab. It’s a really good idea to watch it again and take notes as you go.

HOMEWORK: First though, lets talk about homework.(Don’t forget to check your syllabus to see what else is due tomorrow and Monday!!)

Lab Safety ContractSince we’ll be in lab so much, it’s important that you write your own lab safety contract. Here’s how you do it::

  • From the first couple of pages of the Safety Packet that you got in class (or it’s also here under the Lab tab), write the lab safety statements as your contract.
  • They may be handwritten on notebook paper or typed.. You only have to write the first part of the rule that is bold. There are 29 in all and they almost all start with “I will…”.
  • At the end of your contract – after the last statement, hand write the following statement at the bottom: “I agree to abide by these rules.” Then sign underneath and date it. Even if you type the safety rules, you’ll need to hand write this last part and then scan an IMAGE of your hand written statement and signature/date at the bottom.
  • Scan your final document as a PDF and submit it into your Chemistry Shared Folder. You must have this safety contract submitted to do lab for the rest of the year! Due Monday!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

10 thoughts on “Hon Chemistry 9-24-20 Lab Safety & Procedures

  1. This week I have struggled with setting up my graphs on Google Sheets. Because of this, I have been practicing making more graphs in order to become more comfortable with it.

  2. This week, I struggled with making Google Sheets graph all the points that I put in. To resolve this issue, I will make sure in the future all values are set to automatic format. I might buy Excel because I have a lot more experience with it.

  3. This week, I struggled with learning where to find everything was on Excel and generally just making graphs on it. I overcame this by reading up more online, watching video explanations, and designating extra time on Excel to work on creating more graphs. Once I did this, creating Graph J and K was easier to do.

  4. This week in chemistry I struggled with being efficient while working in class. I am continuously trying to work more efficiently and completing things faster so I don’t have to do them later. Once I improve this, I will have more free time and be able to get ahead even more.

  5. This week I struggled with learning to graph and navigate through Google Sheets. To help with this, I looked up videos and guides to help me to graph with greater efficiency. This has greatly improved my ability to navigate not just through Google Sheets, but Google Drive and Docs as well.

  6. This week I struggled with determining how to properly design my graphs using google sheets, and I struggled with finding what I needed on google sheets. To overcome this, I watched video tutorials and researched where the tools I needed were. Because of this, I was able to complete graphs J and K to the best of my ability.

  7. This week I have struggled with being prepared for a lab. To not struggle with this, I will be sure to thoroughly read the lab the night before and highlight important steps.

  8. This week I struggle with graphing my graphs on sheets. I look up how to use google sheets on online and read how to navigate google sheets.

  9. I struggled setting up and graphing on google sheets. I watched videos and looked up any questions that I had so my graph would be right.

  10. This week, I had trouble with graphing because I was not familiar with the software and the requirements for graphs. However, I watched videos and looked up instructions, and now I have a better understanding. I also struggled with time management this week, and I decided to procrastinate with the exercises. To prevent something similar from happening, I will give myself a head start over this weekend, so that I am not overwhelmed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *