Chemistry Notes from cLAB: Element Reverse Scavenger Hunt

CHEMISTRY: Have you missed any of the discussion from the intro to each block in the Element Scavenger Hunt? This vodcast is for you!

Test Monday(!) and I’m going to let you use your Scavenger Hunt on the LAST ten minutes of the test (!) – so I thought I’d post TWO VERY IMPORTANT vodcasts to help you study for this part of the test. First is the beginning again – a history of the periodic table and the general notes on each block – some of this you may have seen before. Second vodcast is a final run through of slides – clarifying some information and filling in gaps you might have.

Amazing! Before you started the cLAB, did you every dream there was that much interesting and important stuff to know about the s, p, d, and f block elements?!

As you are studying, make sure you go back and practice figuring out the period, block, group, and type of element from the electron configuration. And don’t forget the topics I asked you to research for yourself that you will find on the Chapter 5 Stuff to Know Sheet on Edline!!

To make your research even more interesting(!), there are some really interesting videos with tons of useful information at this site: http://periodicvideos.com/

Some great videos to watch from the s-block for the test are potassium, magnesium, and calcium.

Some great videos to watch for the p-Block are carbon, nitrogen, oxygen, fluorine, and chlorine. http://periodicvideos.com/

Some great videos to watch from the d block are: copper and mercury. And there are other interesting ones you might like to watch just for fun!

Some great videos to watch from the f block are: neodymium, thorium, and uranium. Go pop some popcorn and have some movie time!

Chemistry: History of Periodic Table – Intro to Blocks from Tammy Skinner on Vimeo.

flickr photo by Wolfram Burner

Hon Chemistry 2-3-15 Conclusion of cLAB: Element Reverse Scavenger Hunt from Tammy Skinner on Vimeo.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

70 thoughts on “Chemistry Notes from cLAB: Element Reverse Scavenger Hunt

  1. this week i rate myself a 4/5. i think i did pretty well on the test. also, explorer zone was so much fun! i loved it! i learned a lot from it! we got better as it went ok and learned the trick to making the rockets go higher.

  2. This week I rate myself a 2/5, I did not do well on the test. I wish to do better on future tests and I also have lots of fun helping with the explorer zone.

  3. I rate this week in chemistry a 4/5! Although I wasn’t in class the first part of the week, I feel like I was prepared for explore zone! I was so blessed to have such amazing helpers who worked so hard to help me present my exhibit the best I could! We perfected the alka-seltzer rockets, and they kept hitting the ceiling many times! I’m so glad with the outcome, and that I was able to honor God with it.

  4. For this week I would rate myself a 5/5. I absolutely loved Explore Zone. I was super nervous at first. I was worried I wouldn’t be able to speak clearly or wouldn’t say the right thing. After the first group of kid though, I knew I would be fine. I really enjoyed teaching the kids. It was so awesome to see their reactions and how amazed some of them were. All the preparation was well worth it. Probably the craziest thing that happened to me during Explore Zone was that we were attacked by a vicious, devious wasp. In a desperate attempt to evade this creature I enagaged in an elaborate array of dodging and weaving that led to me knocking some of my candles off the table. I can’t wait to do Explore Zone again.

  5. This week I rate myself a 3/5. I enjoyed Explorezone however, it took me a couple of groups to perfect my presentation and the volume of my voice (I still don’t think I was talking loud enough/they just couldn’t hear me) before I was able to really catch their attention and get them to participate. Having helpers with younger siblings helped too because they weren’t afraid to make them listen. I also learned that teaching is not my calling.

  6. This week I have to rate myself a 5/5. I have had so much fun preparing for Explore Zone, despite all the challenges I faced. After many many days spent working and testing different things in the chemistry lab, my exhibit finally worked out. Thanks to my wonderful assistants and some good old fashioned blood, sweat, and tears, I had one of the greatest days of this school year. Even though Explore Zone was absolutely exhausting, downright painful at some points (when I kept burning my hands), and very stressful, I had so much fun helping the kids learn about science and how we can make learning fun. The ACT this week went very well, but thanks to a loss of brain cells during the math portion, I don’t think my score went up any higher. But despite all of that, I have had an absolutely amazing week. I’ve learned so much about tackling problems head on and rolling with the punches no matter how hard I get hit. After all, when life gives you lemons, make tequila (thanks Meredith!). I’m so excited to finish out the school year strong and do the absolute best that I can do.

  7. i rate myself a 3/5 this week. i did really well with the notes and understanding. i had a fun time with explorer zone and i think the kids really enjoyed it. i hope to finish out the year strong

  8. This week I rate myself a 4/5. It was a easy week and explore zone was fun. The test was a little difficult so I hope to be more prepared for the next one.

  9. This week I enjoyed teaching the kids at explore zone. It taught me a lot about patience and tolerance. I hope to continue to be stress free through out this 9 weeks.

  10. I loved getting to work on explore zone this week! I was kind of nervous about how it was all coming together, but it ended up going smoothly and we got to teach the kids so much!

  11. I rate myself a 4/5 this week. We didn’t do too much learning this week but I think I understood what we did learn. I’m not really sure how the test will turn out, but I don’t think I did too bad. The time I did spend at explorer zone was fun and worthwhile.

  12. I rate myself 3/5 I enjoyed this week. Helping out with explore zone was fun but exhausting I enjoyed seeing the kids enjoy the exhibit. I hope m test went well and I do good on my work.

  13. I would rate myself a 3/5 this week. I don’t think I did as good on the test as I could have, but explore zone was lots of fun and I learned a lot!

  14. I rate myself a 3/5. I really enjoyed exlore zone but I dont think I did well on the test. I am going to do better next time by studying more.

  15. This week in Physics, I had a wonderful time with Explore Zone. My original assistants started off misbehaving so I told them to calm it down. They did, so I figured they would do fine after that. However, they began messing around again, so they were replaced with Tyke. Tyke was 1000x times better than they, as he actually did what he was supposed to do. Lexi and Tyke were extremely helpful in allowing the kids to have fun at the exhibit. I surprised myself with being able to hold the kids’ interests and teaching them the lesson so that they would have enough time to play with the Glow Wall itself. My phone reminded me to write my web post Wednesday, but I wanted to wait until after Explore Zone so I could write about the main event. Now, it is 1:03PM and I am just now posting my web post so you can see how well that reminder worked. Anyway, have a good and restful weekend!

  16. Well I wasn’t there all week but…. I looked over the lessons and the reading that we had to do took an extra read to understand it fully but after that I feel like I understand chapter 6 decently. So I would rate myself a 3/5

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *