Hon Chemistry 10-4-17 Classification of Matter

HON CHEMISTRY: Happy Wednesday! Great job today on asking questions to classify matter! How are you doing on the examples of homogeneous and heterogeneous matter? Here’s a question to think about again, can you tell me three different types of homogeneous matter?

And no, this isn’t part of a moonshine still, but it is copper and I thought it looked kind of cool! Speaking of….why do you think they use copper coil in stills??

Hon Chemistry 9-28-16 Classification of Matter from Tammy Skinner on Vimeo.

flickr photo by cobalt123

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

21 thoughts on “Hon Chemistry 10-4-17 Classification of Matter

  1. This week I would rate myself a 3/5. I did really well in class, but out of class, I don’t think I have had a worse week. At home, I procrastinated, and I waited too long to do my homework. Also, instead of getting my lab done early, I waited until the last moment, and I had to stay up pretty late to finish it. Next week I will start out the 2nd 9 weeks out great.

  2. This week I would give my self a 4/5…so far. Its been a really refreshing week because I feel like I MIGHT be starting to get the hang of this class. I still ask my peers for help pretty often, but my work ethic has improved. I stared the lab super early and I studied a lot for my quiz which lead to a successful outcome. Hopefully my mood remains positive throughout the week and into next quarter!

  3. A struggle for me this week is the newest lab. Not only am I still struggling with time management, but I also had a hard time being decisive in the steps I was making. Fingers crossed I manage to finish it Tomorrow!!

  4. Triumph: I was not stressed about the lab I did earlier this week because I didn’t procrastinate!
    Struggle: I was quite stressed about the lab I started today. I should’ve read over the lab sheet thoroughly and planned what I would do today. Instead, I walked in the room unorganized, with only ideas of what I would do to complete my lab.

  5. This week my triumph was thoroughly completing the lab report. I worked very hard to do my very best on it.
    My struggle this week was the lab we did today in class. I stressed myself out which did not help with understanding how to sucsessfully complete it. Hopefully tomorrow my partner and I will be able to work hard to finish it!

  6. ID rate myself a 2/5 this week because earlier in the week I was doing great, but then I had forgotten to turn in our lab at turnitin.com and then today I did awful in the lab.

  7. I’d rate myself a 3/5 this week, I felt overwhelmed with all the labs and the homeworks and had to stay up late to finish it all because of the busy weekend when I could have woken up a little sooner to work on it say Saturday or Sunday morning. I’m all caught up now though and excited to learn about the periodic table because it is one of my favorite things to study.

  8. I would rate myself a four out of five this week just for completing the lab today. My lab partners and I did not complete anything yesterday but today we had a plan and completed everything.

  9. I would rate myself a 5/5, but I forgot to do my homework so I will still give myself a 4/5. Sammy and I finished the lab completely. Whatever the grade, we tried our hardest, which is why I’m rating myself so high.

  10. Triumph:
    This week my triumph was doing very well on my quiz. I studied really hard and did good on the quiz which brought my grade up.
    Struggle:
    This week my struggle was the separation lab. I had trouble getting a plan together on how to separate the mixture and it stressed me out. Thankfully, in the end, I got it done.

  11. This week i rate myself a 4/5 based on the way my lab partner and i worked on this latest lab. It was stressful, but we mananged to do it.

  12. I would rate myself a 3/5 this week because I feel I understand the concepts of physical and chemical changes, but I struggled with the lab yesterday and today when it came to time management.

  13. I give myself a 5 out of 5 this week because I finished all my homework and completed the separation lab. I also studied hard for the elements quiz and did really well on it.

  14. My triumph this half week has been sucseesfully understanding SPARKvue! My partner and I worked hard to complete the lab during class and we almost finished the report as well!

  15. I rate myself a 4/5 this week. The one point missing is due to me missing the end of class yesterday and having to redo our experiment today more times than we should have to get a decent looking graph. Otherwise, there is not much else that has happened this week, since it has only been two days one of which was a short class period. My lab partner and I finished our lab with plenty of time to get started on the write up and we are going to finish it bright and early tomorrow morning.

  16. This week I rate myself a 3/5. Coming back from the break and doing a lab, was a little difficult but once my lab partner and I figured it out we did really well. I also studied well for my elements quiz.

  17. This week me and my lab partner triumphed and made a good improvement in how we do labs. During our lab, me and Harrison realized the only way we can complete a lab on time Is to divide the work, and to work parallel to each other. Because we worked on different things, we were able to half the time it would have initially taken us to do the lab. From now on we will work like this. We are improving as the year moves on!

  18. I would rate myself 4/5 this week because my lab group worked well together. We completed our labs and homework on time, and I understood everything that was taught in class. I’m starting to get the hang of chemistry.

  19. Triumph: This week was a triumph because Sammy and I created a good graph on our Sparkvue lab and we feel that we did a good job overall. I am liking this chapter a lot!

  20. Struggle: The lab using SPARKvue crashed, and Sarah Kathryn and I lost the almost all we did. Thankfully, I accidentally made snapshots when I was trying to figure out how to insert a picture, so we don’t have to start over. Now, SK and I know not to have multiple windows of SPARKvue open.

  21. This week I would rate myself a 5/5. This week was short, so I was able to stay on top of my work and labs and I’m going to start studying this weekend for the test so hopefully I can do good!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *