Chemistry 1-14-16 Applications of Radioactivity, Pt. 2 and Fission & Fusion

CHEMISTRY: Hey guys! Here’s the laaaaast part of the charter – fission and fusion. Have you started studying? Be careful and don’t take the test for granted! Here’s a copy of the Chapter 21 Stuff to Know & Study Suggestions sheet.

Make sure you keep practicing half-life problems and nuclear equations. Also, make sure you’ve memorize the nuclear symbols for alpha particles, beta particles, positrons, neutrons, and protons. And then there are tons of notes on the conceptual stuff. Properties of radioactivity, people, types of radioactive decay, applications of radioactivity, definitions, definitions, and definitions!

Chemistry 1-14-16 Applications of Radioactivity, Pt. 2 and Fission & Fusion from Tammy Skinner on Vimeo.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

24 thoughts on “Chemistry 1-14-16 Applications of Radioactivity, Pt. 2 and Fission & Fusion

  1. I would give myself a 4 out of 5 this week. I am getting better at half life problems and I’m understanding them better than at the beginning of this week. I did good on my half life take home lab and understood what I was doing.

  2. Rate- I rate myself a five out of ten this week, I had some trouble with the half life problems but after some practice I was able to figure out how to do them!

  3. I rate myself a 6 out of 10 this week at first i had trouble with the half life problems but after we went over it in class i understood.

  4. I am glad I learned how to properly calculate nuclear equations as well as the half-life problems. The ” Help session” on Wednesday in class really helped me learn and practice them! I would rate my self a 5/5 this week for staying on top of my homework and class work.

  5. This I enjoyed reviewing over nuclear equations and half life problems. I feel like it will help me prepare better for my test next week. I would rate myself a 4 out of 5 because I have been getting better and the problems and understanding this chapter better.

  6. This week I learned a lot about radioactive isotopes and half life problems. I also learned how to stabilize nuclei. I struggled with half life problems but im getting better. I rate myself a 3/5 this week

  7. this week we practiced half life problems and even nuclear decay problems. I feel like I have the nuclear decay problems down but i’m still struggling a bit on the half life problems. I’ve been looking over notes and other problems to get the hang of it for the test on Thursday. I am so relieved that the test was moved so that way I can have more time to review and study. This week I would rate myself a 7 out of a 10.

  8. This week I would rate myself a 5/5. I understand how to do half life problems and nuclear formulas easily. Overall, this was a good week.

  9. This week I rate myself a 4/5. I didnt know the signs for beta particle, positron, alpha particle, and neutron at the beginning of the week but now i do! I am better on the half life problems. I know know that not all radiation is bad there are many applications in every day life like diagnostic tests or smoke detectors.

  10. I rate myself a 6/10 this week.I learned a lot about half life problems,and nuclear reactions but could do better next week by checking my syllabus and completing my homework

  11. I would rate myself a 8 out of 10 this week. I found it easy when it came to the nuclear chemistry chapter. I understood everything and I find the problems challenging but I am able to think through them and get my answer. I am ready but anxious for the test next week. I will be studying over the weekend.

  12. This week I am rating myself a 4/5. I understand everything about nuclear equations and half life problems, and I feel confident that I will do well on the test next week.

  13. This week I learned more about nuclear reactors, fission and fusion, and half life. I’d rate myself 2/5 for not doing well with homework.

  14. This week I learned alot about the uses of radioactive isotopes. The half life probles gave me trouble but we worked enough that I got to were I understood how to do them. Grade 4/5

  15. I would give myself a 4/5 this week because at the very begining of the week I didn’t understand how to calculate the half life problems very well but now I understand them more and how to work them. I understood the rest of the radioactivity material this week. Now to apply what I learned to the half-life thLab.

  16. This week we learned about nuclear reactions, fusion, and fission. The nuclear equations for alpha and beta decay were fairly easy to me and the symbols for both were easy to memorize. I would rate myself a 4/5 this week.

  17. This week in chemistry I went back to getting use to things. And reviewing everyday for tests. I really like the half life problems and think I’ll be ready for the test next week. I give myself 5 stars this week.

  18. This week I feel that I have greatly excelled in half life problems and nuclear equations. I have leaned that the mire practice you get the better you will be. I rate my self 5 out of 5 stars this week.

  19. This week I would rate myself a 3 of 5 only because I missed a few homeworks but otherwise I think I did very well in class.

  20. I enjoyed learning about nuclear fission and fusion this week. I learned a lot about half life problems and I’m starting to get the hang of them. I rate myself a 4/5 this week because I started getting better at the half life problems. Looking forward to next week!!!

  21. I’d rate myself a 4/5 because I know how to do all of the problems and I understand the chapter. I enjoyed learning about radioactivity because it’s interesting

  22. This week, I feel as though I strongly understood all the information given and have properly began to study for the upcoming test. I would rate myself a 4/5 and hope to improve my efficiency further.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *