Hon Chemistry 1-7-16 Photoelectric Effect

HON CHEMISTRY: Wow check out this awesome example of the photoelectric effect – a giant solar flower in Buenos Aires, Argentina! It moves as it follows the sun. Click on the link to learn more. There’s also a link below the vodcast. Giant Solar Flower

Hey what about other applications of the photoelectric effect? Are there tiny people living in boxes above the doors at Wal-mart and Target? What about solar calculators? And hey – what about those automatic flush toilets?!

Let me know if you need help with the problems? Don’t give up on the ones tonight! Here’s a hint, see if you can figure out a way to use the speed of light formula and the energy formula together. Bottom line, make sure you not only memorize formulas but be able to think through them to use them. Be careful to learn the symbols and units for each of the quantities you’re going to use, it’s easy to get them confused – and that will help tons!

HON CHEMISTRY 1-6-14 Photoelectric Effect from Tammy Skinner on Vimeo.

flickr photo by Stuck in Customs

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

12 thoughts on “Hon Chemistry 1-7-16 Photoelectric Effect

  1. One thing I struggled with this week was learning the formulas for the energy, speed, wavelength, and frequency. However, I am working hard to memorize them and will be ready to use them whenever necessary.

  2. This week I struggled with getting back into the hang of things after break, but I am back to my normal schedule. I am doing pretty well with understanding the material we are learning. I would rate myself a 4/5 this week.

  3. This week was hard and tiring because of the break but i feel next week i will get back into it.i am understanding what we are learning really well And im also getting all of the problems right. I rate myself a 4 out of 5 this week.

  4. I have learned so much this week! For a short weet it has been packed full of information. I am understanding what we are learning. I thought I was struggling with the problems but I am getting them right on my homework. I would rate myself at a 4 this week.

  5. this week was I struggled with getting back to work after the long break and learning all the formulas and stuff. I memorized all the formulas and got all the problems right on my homework. I understand what we are learning very well. I would give myself a 4 out of 5 for this week.

  6. This week was a long one. It was really hard having to go back to school but i hopefully will get my routine going again. We learned about energy and the electromagnetic spectrum which is really pretty. I rate myself a 4 of 5 for the week.

  7. I rate myself a 4/5 this week. I give myself this rating because I feel like I did well this week on the labs and all the homework, but I did struggle remembering new formulas and getting back into the swing of things after Christmas break.

  8. I learned quite a bit this week, and surprisingly, I understood it. I have yet to memorize the formulas, but I believe myself to be well on my way. The labs were helpful and I now better understand the visual spectrum as well as Northpoint’s lousiness when it comes to buying equipment for the science department. I rate myself 5 out of 5 and pray for non-cardboard spectrometers.

  9. This week I struggled with learning the formulas but after doing the homework I got better at them and I got them right. I would give myself a 4/5 this week because I did well on the homework and better understand the visible spectrum.

  10. I rate myself a three out if five this week. I really struggled with the formulas at first, but then I got the hang of it. I think I did really well on the first part of the lab on Tuesday. Im glad to be back in the swing of things.

  11. This week went by really fast for me. I feel like I got everything down except for some formulas. It is really interesting how we can learn more about electrons by studying light. The lab seemed really easy this week too.

  12. This week I had a hard time getting back in routine but I feel that I understand the material well with the exception of the formulas. Also, I enjoyed the labs we did this week. I would rate myself a 4 out of 5.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *