Hon Chemistry 1-10-19 Wave Properties of Light

HON CHEMISTRY: Isn’t this a super cool picture of light? So tell me again, if we’re supposed to be figuring out electrons, why are we studying waves?

I’m thinking you’ve probably memorized the electromagnetic spectrum after that inspirational song; however, also sure you also know the uses of the different types (all except for long waves). Just in case you’d like to hear it again: Electromagnetic Spectrum Song

How’d you like the light problems so far? I forgot to turn on the mic receiver today, so I’m posting a lecture from last year. We’ll resume with the photoelectric effect tomorrow!

Hon Chemistry 1-10-17 The Electromagnetic Spectrum & Wave Properties of Light UPDATED from Tammy Skinner on Vimeo.

flickr photo by kevin dooley

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

8 thoughts on “Hon Chemistry 1-10-19 Wave Properties of Light

  1. This week I rate myself a 4/5. The light lab was super cool! I’m excited to do part 2 on Monday! I understood the light problems today, but I know they will become more challenging!! My plan is to make flash cards with the all the formulas to make sure I’m familiar with them before the test!!

  2. This week I rate myself a 5/5. This week I have been really ahead on my work and have felt very prepared for everything this week has thrown at me.

    • I got scared that I might not get any credit for not having enough information so here are some more specific details.
      Carson and I were very well prepared for the chain reaction lab and had one of the longest chains.
      Carson and I struggled a bit on the spectroscopy lab but despite any setbacks that could have possibly arisen, we pushed through and got all the work done that we needed.

  3. This week I rate myself a 4/5. Buchanan and I moved rather slowly through the chain reaction lab, but it was worth it to not fail and have to restart. On the other hand, I thoroughly enjoyed the geometric shapes and color patterns that we were able to observe in the spectroscopy lab. Also, I enjoyed learning about the properties of light and its similarities to electrons. I am also excited to learn about Einstein’s famous photoelectric effect. Unfortunately, I have yet to start on the spectroscopy lab drawings, which I would have liked to start. All in all, this has been a good first week back in chemistry and I hope it only gets better!

  4. I rate myself a 3/5 for this week. The light lab was really cool, and I’m very excited to do part 2! I didn’t completely understand the light problems when we learned it in class, but it started to make more sense when I did the homework. I plan to memorize all the formulas now so I don’t have trouble with keeping everything straight when it comes time for the test.

  5. This week I feel like I struggled with staying focused. I have so much going on in my personal life, and it becomes so hard to not let it affect the other parts of my life. However, I am going to try and separate my personal life from my school life by concentrating only on one thing at a time. So whenever I’m about to start thinking about something unrelated, I’ll turn my attention back to what it’s supposed to be on in that moment.

  6. This week I rate myself a 3/5. The chain reaction and spectroscopy labs were really neat. I especially enjoyed observing the variety of colors that combine to form white light and cannot wait to illustrate what I saw. I did well on the light problems that were assigned for homework however, I feel that I still need to work on memorizing the formulas as well as completing the problems in a more timely manner.

  7. I rate myself a 4/5 this week. The chain reaction and spectroscopy labs were super fun and I’m excited to do part 2 of the spectroscopy lab on Monday. The light problems aren’t too bad and once I memorize the formulas and do some more practice, I’m sure they’ll be even better.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *