Chemistry 1-18-17 Radioactive Decay

CHEMISTRY: Today has been all about arrows for some reason! So how are you doing with the nuclear equations? Feeling better about them now that you know what side of the arrow to put the particle on? Also, make sure you memorize the nuclear symbols for alpha particles, beta particles (electrons), positrons, neutrons, and protons – those are just as important as the arrow! Need extra help? Help session Friday morning, 7:20ish A.M.

Be sure and bring a calculator tomorrow – we’ll tackle half life problems! 🙂

Chemistry 1-18-17 Radioactive Decay from Tammy Skinner on Vimeo.

Photo by Gaelle Marcel

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

15 thoughts on “Chemistry 1-18-17 Radioactive Decay

  1. This past lesson on radioactivity, and using decay or emission in an element with finding the new element, is one thing that i can sorta understand. however; i am having a hard time with knowing the differences in the properties. my goal is to memorize all of the different types of properties, so i can have a better understanding of working out the problems correctly. and also applying them!

  2. i feel like i have done pretty well with this lesson. I have done pretty well with the examples and the problems in general. I think as long as I continue to look over the steps that I will do well.

  3. This week I rate myself a 3/5. I think I understand the nuclear equations but I am very confused on what we learned today. I hope that by next week I will have a better understanding on how to do them.

  4. This week I understood how to do the radioactive decay but I will have to study the equations and to memorize which one to use for the problems.

  5. I would rate myself a 3/5 this week. I struggled with understanding all the decays at first,but by Thursday I felt as if I can do them better.

  6. My struggle this week was memorizing which was beta decay and positron emissions. I would get confused on the two because sometimes the book says “beta” and I use the wrong symbol. I was resolve this by knowing the difference between the two and distinguish how they are worded into a problem.

  7. This week in chemistry we have been discussing radioactive decay and today we started working half-life problems. I missed a few of the homework problems for last night that involved radioactive decay, so throughout the rest of this week I will go over my notes and try to work a few so that I don’t get behind. I was also confused on some of the half-life problems we did in class today, so if I am having trouble on the homework, I will look through my notes and try to figure out how to work them on my own.

  8. In Chemistry this week, we have been learning a lot about radioactivity! It really made me think when we took a closer look at the risks we take when using common, everyday items! I would say that I have not had the most successful week. I need to remember to re-watch the lessons on the class website if I am ever confused, and I also need to learn how to better apply what we have learned in class to homework! Even though I would not call this week in Chemistry good, I am constantly learning a lot of new, interesting things! Hopefully next week I can rate myself higher!

  9. This week I learned just how radioactivity can effect our lives, and how sometimes we don’t even know it is effecting us until it is too late. Now I think every time I’m talking on the phone or drinking out of a plastic water bottles just how it can harm me! I feel that I’m doing pretty well at understanding Half-life problems, and practicing them on the homework is making working out these problems much easier.

  10. This week, i would rate my self a 4.5/5. This is my highest rating i have ever given my self, and i feel that i have earned it by the hard work and reading ahead and coming prepared for the lesson, knowing what it would be from reading the night before. I’m hoping to continue this through out this year and finish the semester out strong!

  11. This week I would rate myself a 4/5. I understood half-life, beta, and decay. I could do a better job at memorizing the formulas for decay and emission.

  12. This week in chemistry i would give myself a 4/5 because I think I understand the problems we were working. When i missed one i think i can find my mistake quicker and understand them bettter

  13. This week I rate myself a 3/5. I think I am doing really well with nuclear equations and also understand all that goes with it. I hope that throughout the rest of the semester I will do well and can not wait to learn more!

  14. This week i would rate myself a 4/5 because i understood the problems that we were working.I also think I payed better attention during the notes.

  15. This week we learned about half-life and I did well on the problems during homework and in class. I would rate myself a 5/5 because I payed attention in class and understood everything this week.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *