Hon Chemistry 12-1-16 Properties of Radioactive Isotopes & Radioactive Decay

HON CHEMISTRY: Can you guess what it is?/ It’s a picture of uranium ore under UV light. Cool, huh! Here’s the lecture for Thursday on the properties of radioactive nuclides and the types of radioactive decay.

This lesson includes info on how to write nuclear equations. Don’t forget to memorize the nuclear symbols for alpha particles, beta particles (electrons), positrons, neutrons, and protons. Not nearly as bad as polyatomic ions, huh?!?
🙂

Great start on half-life problems today! I love the way you were able to figure them out yourselves!! Let’s play with them some more tomorrow! Calculators ready!!

HON CHEMISTRY 11-21-13 Properties of Radioactive Nuclides & Nuclear Equations from Tammy Skinner on Vimeo.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

2 thoughts on “Hon Chemistry 12-1-16 Properties of Radioactive Isotopes & Radioactive Decay

  1. This week was both a success and a struggle. I successfully grasped the material and was very intrigued by all of the new information that was presented. However, since I couldn’t ask questions in class, I had to force myself to figure out what I was supposed to do (especially for the homework). I am a little overwhelmed with all of the memorization and new concepts. I feel like I understand it, but that’s what I thought when preparing for the last test… Maybe a help session/test overview next week? 🙂

  2. This week I would rate myself 5/5 stars. I find the new concepts on radioactive isotopes very interesting and I enjoy learning about it. I feel like I have done very well on my homework this week because I really took my time to make sure my answers made sense. I also agree with Morgan about a help session next week (:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *