Regular Chemistry 10-21-16 Assignment for Friday – Science In the News

To My Beautiful Chemistry Students: I miss you today! Here is the assignment for Friday:

How can chemistry – or science, technology, engineering, and mathematics be important to your everyday life? TONS of ways, and this year we’ll be using Science In the News to research just that!

IMPORTANT guidelines for the assignment:

  • Find your article on the website sciencenewsforstudents.org
  • Make sure you pick an article you find interesting and that you understand!!
  • Make sure you pick an article that you can use to answer the questions on the Science In the News sheet. If there are questions you cannot answer with the type of article you have – pick another article!!!
  • The SItN assignment must be handwritten on notebook paper – you may write on the back

IMPORTANT #2: When you are finished today, put your laptop up in the correct slot and plug it in!!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

47 thoughts on “Regular Chemistry 10-21-16 Assignment for Friday – Science In the News

  1. This week in chemistry I rate myself a 4/5 because I didn’t really struggle with anything. I think I did good on everything we did.

    • Success: This week I thought that the lesson from Thursday was a success due to the fact that it was easy to pick up on. It was also easy to understand and follow. I understood it well, so I would call this week a success!

  2. This week in chemistry, I’d rate myself a 4/5 stars, because I’ve been working diligently on my exam study guide and have done all of the assignments easily. Although, on the map making activity (when we went from our desk, out the door, back in, and back to our seats), I did have some trouble with my partner on the map by being routed into a door, wall, or lab station.

  3. I would rate myself a 3/5 this week. I feel like i did really good on the test, on time management, and on the SitN. I feel like I did decent on my makeup lab and very good on the write-up. One thing I did not do well on however was the Coding activity. My partner and I made almost no progress the whole period because we would forget small details. This was my struggle this week.

  4. This week I would rate myself a 5/5. I feel like I did everything the way I was supposed to. We finished the lab early and even had time to help someone else to finish it. This has been one of the best weeks i have ever had. I will continue to work hard and do all that I can.

  5. This week in Chemistry, I would rate myself a 4/5 stars. For the lab using the computers, there were a lot of times where you had to be a problem solver. My lab partner and I tried to figure out things on our own and almost every time were able to! I realized that when you are faced with problems, do not immediately ask for help but try to figure it out first!

  6. I would rate myself 3/5 this week in chemistry. I have done well getting to class on time and starting on the assignment, but I struggled a little with the lab this week. There were times that I did not know what to do and I would have to ask for help from my lab partner or the teacher. For the rest of this week and throughout next week, I will try to work on this.

  7. I’d say this week I was a 3.9/5 this week. The SparkLab threw me off a little this week and trying to get it uploaded on time. The SparkLab was an interesting experience all the same.

  8. This week I rate myself a 4/5 for being able to complete the lab with accurate results and for quickly finishing my lab report when working with my partner this week. I struggled, at times, to figure out the next steps to the lab but me and my partner were able to efficiently plan out what to do.

  9. This week, I have learned a lot with how to deal with stress. learning from my mistakes are the key to solving problems. My lab partners and i all completed the virtual lab in time, and that led us to being able to work on homework in class and complete that instead of trying to Finnish the lab report for the energy solutions lab. i would rate our group a 4.5/5. Our only mistake was switching roles frequently. if we did so, we could have learned how to do everything, as if we could do it independently if Ms. Skinner wanted us to.

  10. This week was a good one for me. My triumph I had was doing good on the lab we did and took good notes. The struggle I had is that I need to make more time on studying for the tests. Overall, I would give myself a 3/5 for the week.

  11. I would rate myself a 4/5 this week. I feel like my lab partner and I did and excellent job on the lab this week. We understood most of the lab. One mistake we could have had is getting the masses exactly the same, but overall we did a great job. Also, I am having a better understanding of the period table and the ions based on today’s lesson.

  12. This week in chemistry I would rate myself 4/5 because me and my partner did well on the Sparkvue lab. I need to study harder next time to make better grade next time.

  13. My triumph this week was the lab. I could understand is clearly, and my lab partner and I finished in a timely manner. I should work on taking even better notes, so I can achieve more in tests.

  14. I would rate myself 4/5 for this week. I struggled with completing the lab on time. I felt as if we did good on the lab though.

  15. This week my lab partner and I did very well with the Sparkvue lab. I did not really struggle with anything. I rate myself a 5/5 stars for this week.

  16. I rate myself a 5/5 this week everything came easy and I didn’t really struggle at all the sparksvue lab was a breeze for me and my partner.

  17. I would rate myself a 4/5 for this week. At the beginning of the week, my lab partner and I did very well on working on the lab. Even when we ran into a problem with a lab we were able to work together to figure out the answer to our problem. The lesson today in class really helped refreshed my mind on what I learned two years ago in science about ions.

  18. This week I would rate myself a 5/5. With the Sparkvue lab, my partner and I did very well. We worked very efficiently and got things done. I am also proud of how I did this week staying on top of my work, which for me is a big plus.

  19. athis week in chemistry i would rate myself a 3/5. Me and my partner managed time well and got done in a very good time with the sparkvue. it was simple and easy lab. i stayed on top of all my work this week which i am also proud of and i feel as if i can improve on getting ahead in homework when i have plans and not put it off.

  20. This week I would rate myself a 4/5. My lab partner and I did very well using Sparkvue. We worked very well together also. Using Sparkvue was hard at first, but we were able to figure out how to complete the lab.

  21. This week I would rate myself a 5/5. My lab partner and I worked very well together on the Sparkvue Lab. We finished in the time given to us and had time left over. We learned how to efficiently work with each other, and to use stuff that we have never used before.

  22. This week was a good week because I think that my lab partner and I did a good job completing and figuring out our lab. Also, the lesson from yesterday was somewhat easy to comprehend although I still have a few questions. Overall I would rate myself a 4/5.

  23. This week I’d rate myself a 4/5. I learned how to use Sparkvue, and also how to label polyatomic ions. I struggled with with getting the Sparkvue lab report written with the graph shown.

  24. this week I would rate my self 3/5 stars with the lab this week we had to do it twice because we did not fully measure the temperature of the water also we did not save our unfinished lab to the chemistry folder causing us to not be able to finish it till the end of class on Wednesday Our triumph this week would be being able to completely finish the lab in a short amount of time Wednesday.

  25. Rate: 5/5
    This week I would rate myself a 5/5 because even with the distractions from homecoming and all the other events, me and my group succeded in finishing our lab in record time and doing it correctly too! We worked as a team and got everything done super quickly. Also this week I learned that it is important to switch roles of who is in charge, in doing this it allows everyone to have a responsibility and envoke their own little influence into the layout of how we set up our lab write out. This week we defiantly Triumphed!

  26. This week I rate myself a 3/5 because I feel like I didn’t struggle with anything and I feel that what we learned I will do good on.

  27. This week I missed two days and the lab day. However , I got done with the lab and turned it in the same day I got back. I would rate myself a 3/5 this week because I worked very fast and got a lot done eventhough I missed days. I also got help from my fellow classmates which helped me out a lot

  28. This week, I feel I did very well in class. I feel my understanding of the elements on the test will help me with learning and memorizing the polyatomic ions later on. My partner and I also had a very easy time with the sparkvue lab

  29. this week I learned how to temperature control and I did better on the test than I thought I would. This week, I’d rate myself a 3/5.

  30. During the slab this week, my partner and i were having difficulties with multiple things. Instead of getting overly frustrated and freaked out, we figured out how to fix our problems and ended up finishing the lab in time! This was my triumph this week.

  31. This week, I learned how to use temperature control. I did ok on the test. I need to do better on the multiple choice. I rate myself a 3/5

  32. This week in chemistry I learned how to use Sparkevue. Me and my partner did very well this week we did not struggle with anything. I’d rate myself a 4/5 for the week.

  33. This week i did very well working with the computers. My lab partner and I communicated well and finished quickly. Although we had some issues with turning our lab in, in the end we accomplished everything nicely. I was also very happy with my test grade and i will continue to study like i did for that one for further tests. i would rate myself a 4/5 for the week. It was overall a good week and i look forward to more.

  34. This week in chemistry we learned how to record data and make experiments on the computer. I feel like I did very well and was good at figuring out how to complete and set up the experiment. Overall I rate myself a 8/10

  35. I never realized that there were to many uses for science in the common world. Science is used in everything and is constantly used to enhance society with the use of previous scientific knowledge and developments.

  36. I would rate myself a 4/5 this week. My lab partner and I excelled at the SPARKvue lab and did great with our time management. I didn’t do as well as I would have liked on my test, but that seems to be the only struggle this week.

  37. This week I would rate myself a 5/5. My lab partners and I were able to do the Sparkle lab without a lot of flaws. The mistakes that we did make we corrected the second they happened. We were all able to contribute equally to the lab and were able to finish the lab on time.

  38. My experience in chemistry this week was a 3.5/5. It wasn’t great this week because I had struggles with the different technology. Looking forward to progressing in chemistry.

  39. This week in chemistry I learned how to work in sparkvue. I struggled a little bit at first with using the site but I triumphed by compelteting the exercise the next day. I would rate myself a 4/5 this week.

  40. this week in chemistry i learned how to use sparkvue and gather temperatures and record them on the sparkvue graphs. I struggled this week with how to save the sparkvue graph and turn it in.

  41. This week in chemistry we learned how to use sparkvue. I would rate myself a 4.5/5 because I did really good with the lab and using the program. I’m looking forward for more to come in chemistry.

  42. My triumph this week was honestly my grade on the test. I tried different studying techniques and fixed what I did wrong last time and I saw how it payed off. Although it was not an A it was a high B and I’m very very proud of it. I also am feeling more and more comfortable with labs and lab write ups and having to do things on my own and figure things out. I would rate myself a 4.5/5 this week.

  43. My triumph of this week was getting a much better grade on my test and being able to score above my average. I may have gotten a B on the test, but it was nearly an A. Also, I got much more of the percentage of the multiple choice part correct compared to last time. I am also improving on time management on labs at school now.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *