Hon Chemistry 11-24-15 Fission & Fusion

HON CHEMISTRY: Pretty cool history relating to fission, huh? And what about fusion – just another reason you might not want to plan a trip to the sun!

Guess what? We’ve wrapped up the chapter! How are you doing on studying for the test? It will cover the beginning part of chapter 3 (through average atomic mass), chapter 21, and you will most probably also have a set of chemical formulas to write and name.

Could you use some extra practice? Help session Monday morning when we get back – 7:20ish A.M. (Somebody text me to remind me and I’ll sent a reminder out to everyone!) šŸ™‚

Practice everything! And did I mention, PRACTICE!! I’ll be praying for you!

Hon Chemistry 11-23-15 Fission & Fusion from Tammy Skinner on Vimeo.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

18 thoughts on “Hon Chemistry 11-24-15 Fission & Fusion

  1. This week in chemistry felt like a short one. On Tuesday we took our chapter 21 & 3 test which was good. I felt like the review on Monday and the help session benefit me a lot. We also get out of school tomorrow because of state yay! It was very busy altogether though. Also, Christmas is right around the corner. This week I give myself a 4 of 5.

  2. This week in Chemistry was very short. We wrapped up our chapter on atoms and radioactivity on Monday and took our test Tuesday, which I was pleased with since I did extremely well. I was doing very well on the math and memorization part of it, but I struggled a tiny bit with the chemical formulas and the discussion question. The help session Tuesday morning was very helpful, and sure did help me make better on the test. Next we are going to watch the Brain Games DVD, which should be very interesting.

  3. This week the vLab helped me to understand nuclear fusion and fission a lot more! Now I understand how U-235 can be used for nuclear weapons and energy. I would rate myself a 4 out of 5 stars this week because I finished my vLab and understand the concepts now better than ever!

  4. I feel like i rate myself a 4out of 5 i didnt do as good as i wanted on the test but i felt like i did good on the thing we did today. I thought it was cool how that is actually how a computer works.

  5. This week we took our test on chapter 21. I didn’t do as good as I had hoped because of the chemical formulas. We learned some really interesting things about fission and fusion ,and we made an atomic bomb. I will make sure to memorize the chemical naming for next test.

  6. This week I learned more about nuclear fission and fusion from the vLAB which helped me a lot. I also learned how to make an atomic bomb. Todays computer activity was my favorite part of this week, it was crazy to see how we made a code and worked it out like computers do. I didn’t do as well on the test as I thought I did because of the chemical formulas, but I will make sure to refresh my memory for future tests!

  7. One thing I excelled at in chemistry this week was the critical thinking activity we did today. Millie and I quickly found out a clear path back to our seat and were able to condense it later.

  8. I rate myself a 4 out of 5 this week because I began the week worried about the test but felt better after the review and help session and think I made an okay grade on the test.

  9. The vLAB we did this week helped me understand more about fission and chain reactions. I really liked today’s activity; it was interesting to learn how computer coding works. I would rate myself a 4 out of 5.

  10. This week we took our test over Chapter 21 and part of chapter 3. I didn’t do as well as I had hoped. We also did a virtual lab that was fairly easy. It helped me learn more about fusion and fission. I would rate myself a 4 out of 5.

  11. This week has been a fun week in Chemistry. We have been watching the Brain Games DVD in class and it has been very fun to watch! All of the optical illusions and brain teasers made it very interesting to watch. I struggled some with the multitasking, but I did very well at the memorization/optical illusions part of it. Hopefully our exam next week goes well!

  12. This week in chemistry we were watching brain games. Even though i have seen those episodes before i actually learned more from them this time. I rate myself a 4 out of 5 because i have enjoyed watching those episodes.

  13. This week in chemistry we watched brain games. Brain games showed me that I can not trust my brain or my eyes because they can be misleading.

  14. This week we watched Brain Games. They taught me more about my brain than I knew before. I learned that our brain is misleading sometimes. I also learned some computer programming today in class. This week has been a nice break from chemistry and I feel ready for my exam.

  15. This week in class we did not do very much. We watched some brain games videos, which were very interesting. They taught me a lot about my brain that I did not know. I learned that we do not pay attention to near as much as we think we do. We also learned how to program computers today. I rate myself a 5/5 because we really didn’t do that much this week.

  16. This week in Chemistry we have started reviewing for exams! Before we started reviewing, we took some time to evaluate our brains and to understand how they work. Brain Games really interested me, and I thoroughly enjoyed both episodes! Also, the coding activity stretched my brain in a different way. I was very successful with the coding maze, and I thought it was interesting! This week, I was successful in the coding activity and I will work hard to study for exams.

  17. This week in chemistry we watched brain games. I learned a lot of interesting things like your brain can only focus on one thing at a time. Also we started our exam review and I know that I need to do the study guide and read over everything again because I don’t remember all the material we went over.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *