Chemistry 8-27-15 SI Measurements

CHEMISTRY – Hey guys, so is all the info on SI measurements starting to come back to you? Here’s the lecture from Thursday. I’m sure it’s mostly review from your physical science days, but it’s a great opportunity to refresh what you’ve learned and to get ready to begin using it!

Did you remember the prefixes? Start work on memorizing them NOW – Si quantities, units, and SI prefixes. For the prefixes, also make sure that you can tell me how many of something in the larger one. (That’s what I explained in class.) The quiz on them will be next Wednesday, Sept. 2.

Chemistry 8-27-15 SI Measurements from Tammy Skinner on Vimeo.

flickr photo by Nils Geylen

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

32 thoughts on “Chemistry 8-27-15 SI Measurements

  1. I had a great time in the lab this week especially with the Oobleck Lab it was fun and creative .The things we are learning in the lab I feel like I will be able to use those skills wherever I go in life. Another exciting part of this week was the mythbusters video .That video gave me the knowledge of doing experiments and forming hypothesis to get accurate answers are needed sometimes throughout a time in life. I am looking forward to be working on SI units in class next week so I can accomplish what needs to be done!!

  2. This week we learned how to use the scientific method in labs. The Oobleck lab was so much fun but really hard to clean up! I’m starting to get use to using all the time on my labs. I’m looking forward to using the SI units in our upcoming labs. Can’t wait to see what we will learn next week!!!

  3. Last week I struggled with time management in the lab and I would have given myself 2/5 stars for that. However, this week I would give myself 5/5 stars because I was able to complete all my lab questions and clean up my lab station in the given amount of time. This week I also learned about the SI system, how it is used, and how it can be applied to problems in life.

  4. I had a great time with the Oobleck lab I really learned a lot about how it changes from a solid to a liquid. I feel like I struggled with getting the Oobleck the way I wanted it but then finally I got it. The way that you use the scientific method is really helpful during the experiment. From making a hypothesis to coming up with the conclusion. I can’t wait to do the take home lab it looks really fun.

  5. Last week I struggled on completing my labs on time and this week I have definitely improved on using my time wisely. I would rate myself as a 5/5 stars this week. I really enjoyed the Oobleck lab it helped me to now how to form a hypothesis. I am looking forward to the take home lab !!

  6. This week I struggled with getting the correct consistency for the oobleck at first. I eventually got the hang of it by adding more powder and enjoyed it! I also really improved my time management this week! I finished and cleaned up my oobleck in plenty of time. The notes over the scientific method and the SI units really helped to refresh my memory. I think I would rate myself 4-5 stars this week.

  7. While learning about the scientific method this week, I realized that it doesn’t only apply to science class. I noticed that you use the scientific method everyday, and I began to think about the process of my decision making. For example, I can apply to scientific method to how I make decisions during volleyball practice by making observations about my surroundings on the court, giving an educated guess about how the other team will react, and experimenting with my hypotheses in practice. It’s amazing how often you use the scientific method without realizing it!

  8. Last week I struggled with time management, but this week I managed my time better. I would give myself 4 stars, because I am still a little flustered during labs. I really enjoyed the Oobleck lab this week! I look forward to applying my knowledge of SI units in future labs.

  9. Hey this been a great week. Even though I was not able to do the Oobleck lab I was able to text you and ask when I would be able to make it up and explained too me. Having to remember what I have for homework every night has been tough but Ive able to get everthing done.

  10. This week I learned a lot more about the scientific method and how it doesn’t just apply to scientists. I enjoyed the oobleck lab so much (even though it was a little messy)! I struggled with keeping up with notes in class at first, but I began abbreviating and that helped so much! I would rate myself at a 3 this week.

  11. I enjoyed making he oobleck this week and having to use the scientific method to analyze the results and I liked how we had to figure out its state of matter. It made the experiment a lot more fun to try and figure out what it actually was. I had a little trouble deciding if it was a liquid or solid and making sure it had the right amount of powder and oobleck mix

  12. I enjoyed everything we did in the lab this week. I liked the Oobleck lab a lot because It gave me practice on how to use the scientific method. It was a very interesting lab and difficult to identify if it was a solid or liquid. I also liked the myth busters video because it showed how other scientists use the scientific method for their experiments.

  13. This week in Chemistry we learned about the scientific method. This week was mainly a well needed review. I learned in situations in lab it is important to always follow steps and be able to perform the experiment and write about the result. The oobleck lab was a very fun, gooey, interesting experiment. I can’t wait for the next lab and I’ll always follow the scientific method. This week i’d rate myself an 8. I feel like i did fairly well ,but still need improvements in the lab.

  14. This week was really packed with information! The Oobleck lab really opened my eyes on the scientific method. The notes may have been a slight review, but I still learned alot of new stuff.

  15. This week I learned more about the scientific method and how it applies to everything we do in life not just science. I also loved the oobleck how it is actually both a solid and a liquid was really cool. I give myself a 4/5 this week, i felt that i was ontop of things and kept up with mystuff.

  16. Learning and applying the scientific method in the oobleck lab helped with me better understanding the scientific method and how we over lock common everyday things. The building your own balance lab is also helping my apply and get more comfortable with percent error and sig figs.

  17. Struggle: This week I struggled with keeping up while taking notes. I will try to write faster, paraphrase, and abbreviate things. I think putting the lessons on the website is good so that if you miss something or write something wrong you can go back and fix it in your notes.

  18. This week I really enjoyed the Oobleck lab. I definitely improved from last week with time management. I learned more about the SI units, but struggled with taking notes and absorbing it all. I rate myself a 3/5 for my improvement from last week.

  19. I loved the Oobleck lab this week! It was so much fun to see all the different ways it acted as a solid and a liquid. I did struggle with time management this week due to the clean up process. It sure did take a long time to make sure all of the Oobleck was completely cleaned out of the apparatuses so that it doesn’t affect anyone’s lab results after me. I also enjoyed being able to use what I learned about the scientific method in my Oobleck lab! I observed the substance then formed a hypothesis then tested that hypothesis. Based on my results and observations, I created theory about what Oobleck actually is. I really look forward to doing the take home lab!

  20. This week in class I learned how to use the scientific method in class and labs. I also learned how to apply it to everyday life. Applying the method to different things made me realize how much we should use it everyday.

  21. I’ve very much enjoyed the Oobleck lab this week. It was very fun, and it has taught me a few things about time management about within the labs during class. I’ve also need the refresher on the scientific method, measurements, and significant figures.

  22. I rate myself this week 4/5 I am really starting to get the hang of getting ready for the labs and how to make multiple abbreviations for words on my notes! I am looking forward on doing the take home lab this weekend and look foward to chemistry on monday!

  23. This week I would give my self a 4/5 for my oobleck lab. I got in there and went to work and got done on time this week even though it was very hard to clean up all the oobleck.

  24. This week one of the struggles I had involved homework. I did the homework and got to school and then realized that I had done the wrong page. I didn’t have any time to correct it and have definitely learned to be more careful. From here on out I’m going to double check the syllabus and my work to make sure I have done the assignment correctly!

  25. I rate myself a 1 of 5 this week.I did not print off my syllabus, or my lab. This caused me to have to print my lab off during class time and ultimately having to rush during the lab. I was unaware of homework that was due because of i did not have the syllabus.Not being prepared for the week hurt my homework and lab grade,and i learned that i have to prepare the right way to be successful in chemistry this year.

    • T – I really appreciate your post. It takes a lot of maturity to learn from your mistakes. I look forward to a new beginning next week!! 🙂

  26. I rate myself a 4 of 5 this week because I was well prepared for class and I read the lab the night before which allowed me to go straight in to class and get to work right away. I learned that if you prepare before hand, it makes things much easier rather than having to rush through a lab.

  27. This week I learned how to think like a scientist by using the scientific method. I really enjoyed the oobleck lab that made me look for observations and coming up with a conclusion based on those and my experiments. Overall it has been an amazing and educational week in chemistry!

  28. I had so much fun doing the Oobleck lab in class this week,even if the clean up was long! I’m excited to start using the scientific method and si system in my labs!

  29. I had so much fun doing the Oobleck lab in class this week,even if the clean up was long! I’m excited to start using the scientific method and si system in my labs!

  30. This week I struggled with time management, but now I’ve realized I should keep better track of time. I really enjoyed the fact that everything we learned this week came back clearly and I was confident with my works. But I’ve improved and learned how to make better observations, take more efficient notes, ect. I would give myself a 4 for recalling my old knowledge and catching on quickly. I’m looking forward to the take home lab and learning more about SI units!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *