Chemistry 8-26-15 Scientific Method, Pt. 2

CHEMISTRY – Great fun with Oobleck today! Were you successful in using the scientific method?

Have you double checked Edline to make sure that you are good with all the Tech 101 and Lab Safety assignments you are supposed to have turned in? if you had to back and make any changes, MAKE SURE that you text me or email me to let me know that you have updated your files. Otherwise I won’t know you’ve changed anything. Come and talk with me if you have questions!

Oobleck

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

21 thoughts on “Chemistry 8-26-15 Scientific Method, Pt. 2

  1. “why I didn’t do my homework”:

    This week I have learned that I am not good at remembering to check the website, mainly because its all new to me, but to help myself out on that I have set alarms for when to check it and have my parents remind me, I also write it down

  2. I enjoyed the oobleck lab! I had fun and learned how to use the scientific method in the experiment. This lab was less stressful than the other labs we have done. I learned how to manage my time.

  3. I really enjoyed doing the Oobleck Lab! It was a lot of fun and I learned how to correctly use the scientific method during lab. I am still wondering if it is a solid or a liquid!!

  4. I really enjoyed doing the Oobleck lab! It was a lot of fun and I’m glad I have correctly learned how to use the scientific method during lab. I am still wondering if it is a solid or a a liquid!

  5. I thought the Oobleck lab was really fun! Even though I finished the lab with time to spare, I learned that during the lab that time management is essential if you’re going to finish a lab by the time class ends. I think I did a pretty good job with following the directions during the lab. I’d probably give myself a 4 because there were some things that were a little confusing but overall I think I did a good job. I also think that it’s cool that we use the scientific method everyday even if we don’t realize it!

  6. I really enjoyed the oobleck lab! Though it was a little messy it was very interesting working with such a strange substance. I feel I benefited from this week, not only from reviewing the scientific method but actually putting it into play during this lab!

  7. This week I really enjoyed the lab. I loved how the instructions told you exactly what to do. The one thing I didn’t like was how messy it was. It took forever to clean up. The oobleck lab is my favorite so far!

  8. The oobleck experiment was vey fun in my opinion. I never thought something could be a solid one minute and a solid the next minute. I found it very strange for something like that. It makes me want to learn more and more about chemistry every day.

  9. I believe this lab was a triumph for me. I thoroughly read the lab the night before which helped me execute the lab correctly. Since I knew what I was doing, it made the lab easier and I was much more efficient in the lab.I really think I’m starting to get the hang of the process, but am still looking to further improve.

  10. I learned this week that there is such thing as a solid and a liquid. Also, I learned that using the Scientific Method during a lab is very important.

  11. I struggled on the oobleck lab. I had a difficult time trying to figure whether it was a liquid or solid because I constanly felt like I was missing something. Hopefully I will grow out of doubting myself throughout the chemistry labs this year!

  12. This week i learned to manage my time well in lab. With the help from Mrs. Skinner and my lab partners, we finished the Oobleck lab on time! I also reflected on my last lab and how I had to make it up. This motivated me to keep up with the time and work hard!!

  13. This week I learned how to make the scientific method useful by applying it to my Oobleck Lab and when I was learning in all of my other classes. I would have never know that this was possible. My favorite part of this week Oobleck Lab because it was a lot of fun to play with. I hope to do more labs soon and apply the scientific method more often!

  14. This week I learned how to manage my time and how to use the Scientific Method during experiments. I realized that reading the labs before hand makes it way easier in class and makes the experiment run smoother.

  15. One thing I like about chemistry so far, is that we get to do one (sometimes) multiple labs a week! Labs are my favorite part of science and so far the labs have been really fun.

  16. This week in chemistry we learned about units and mainly the scientific method. I learned that the scientific is used in everything we do. I learned more about the different types of SI prefixes because before I only knew 7. I give myself a 3/5 for the week because I did all my homework to my best ability and stayed on top of my work.

  17. This week in chemistry I really enjoyed the Oobleck lab. It was fun and helped me to practice the scientific method. I also learn each time we have a lab to manage my time better and clean up with time to spare before the bell rings.

  18. This week, I enjoyed the Oobleck Lab very much. It was super fun! Also, it was a great lab to help learn the scientific method. I would rate myself a three only because I forgot closed toed shoes and had to find some from someone.

  19. This week I learned to apply the scientific method to labs, such as the Oobleck lab. I also learned some new things about systems of measures, you do not round in science the same way you do in math, another great thing I will be able to apply in future labs! I had a great week of learning!

  20. I loved this lab! I think an application for this concept would be, if you had the consistency correct, and you had the right substances, you might be able to make body armor that would he easy to move in, but would harden during a forceful hit.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *