Chemistry 4-14-15 Ionic Bonds

CHEMISTRY: Isn’t this a beautiful crystal of copper sulfate pentahydrate? Since we’ve been talking about crystal lattice structures, I thought you might like to see something different than salt!

Here’s the lecture on ionic bonding and ionic vs. covalent bonds. Remember, when you write ionic bonding, you’re not trying to arrange a single structure like you do with Lewis structures. Instead, you’re writing an equation that shows electrons being lost by one atom and gained by another atom. And make sure you put the dots in the right order!

Chemistry 4-14-15 Ionic Bonds from Tammy Skinner on Vimeo.

flickr photo by Tjflex2

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

3 thoughts on “Chemistry 4-14-15 Ionic Bonds

  1. This was a really intense but really good week! I managed to get a lot done in a short amount of time. The project went well, I succeeded in surviving and hopefully did well in the process. As for ExploreZone, I’m very excited. My team and I have picked out what we are going to do with our chemical reactions, and have already written down the experiments, demonstrations, and activities. I believe this is going to be an awesome event!

  2. I learned this week that a ionic bond is way stronger than a covalent bond. I also learned the differences of these type of compounds. I also rate myself a 4.5 stars out of 5 on drawing ionic bonds. I rate myself this because I understand how to distribute the electrons and I know if there are left over electrons one of the elements in the formula need to be used again.

  3. Although I was only in school for one day, i was glad to finish the chemistry project. I give my self 3 out of 5 stars for using my time wisely and finishing the project with some time to spare.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *