Hon Chemistry 2-26-15 Ionic Bonding

HON CHEMISTRY: Hey guys, here’s the lecture for Thursday on ionic bonding. If you are not in class for whatever reason – the play, basketball, SNOW!!!, you are required to watch this vodcast. Homework for Thursday night is due Friday – or the next day we are in class.

Keep in mind that when you write ionic bonding, you’re not trying to arrange a single structure like you do with Lewis structures. Instead, you’re writing an equation that shows electrons being lost by one atom and gained by another atom. And make sure you put the dots in the right order!

Also important, pay close attention to the comparisons of ionic and covalent bonds – and WHY! And whatever you do, stay away from bubble baths if you have mortal enemies!

Hon Chemistry 2-26-15 Ionic Bonding from Tammy Skinner on Vimeo.

Image source:nearingzero.net

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

2 thoughts on “Hon Chemistry 2-26-15 Ionic Bonding

  1. Struggle- I’ve been struggling with polyatomic ion lewis structures. I think the main reason that I’ve been struggling with these is because I haven’t practiced them a lot. So in general, I think that I just need to go home and practice doing them more.

  2. I would rate myself a 3/5 for this chapter overall. I feel confident in drawing Lewis structures, and moderately confident in drawing polyatomic ion Lewis structures, but the new information is slowly clicking. Re-watching the vodcasts should help me, and I plan on watching them over again this weekend while in preparation for Tuesday’s test.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *