Hon Chemistry 2-23-15 Lewis Structures & Polyatomic Ions & Molecular Geometry

HON CHEMISTRY: Who knew we’d be doing geometry in chemistry?!? You did a great job today! Lewis structures, multiple bonds, resonance, and now polyatomic ions and molecular geometry – wow, that’s a lot you’ve conquered in the last few days!

Molecular geometry is super easy. Make sure you know how to draw Lewis structures, then determine the type of ABE structure and you’ve got it. Easy-peazy!

Here’s some good advice – don’t take shortcuts. Learn the proper steps on the easier molecules, and you’ll be able to do the hard ones. And if it’s still all Greek to you, don’t worry! Keep practicing and you’ll get it, I promise!! Don’t forget to count electrons and don’t forget CONS!

Hon Chemistry 2-23-15 Lewis Structures & Polyatomic Ions & Molecular Geometry from Tammy Skinner on Vimeo.

flickr photo by Ron Layters

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

3 thoughts on “Hon Chemistry 2-23-15 Lewis Structures & Polyatomic Ions & Molecular Geometry

  1. At first, I struggled a lot with molecular geometry. I just didn’t understand any of the relationships between the Lewis structures and the ABE structures or how to figure out which shape a molecule was. After watching this vodcast again, reviewing my notes, and practicing structures through the cLab of 3D Molecules, I am understanding molecular geometry so much more!

  2. I give myself 3 out of 5 stars on the clab this week. I did ok on the worksheet except for a couple of the compounds. I also think I did very well with the part on the iPad.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *