Chemistry 1-16-15 Wave Properties of Light

CHEMISTRY: So tell me again, if we’re supposed to be figuring out electrons, why are we studying waves? Here’s the lecture from Friday on just that. Make sure you know the types of electromagnetic radiation and the uses of most of them (all except for long waves). And just in case you really need to sing that song again, here’s The Electromagnetic Spectrum Song

How did you like the light problem formulas – so far? We’ll explore wave problems further next week – be sure to bring a calculator to class!

Chemistry 1-16-15 Wave Properties of Light from Tammy Skinner on Vimeo.

flickr photo by kevin dooley

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

59 thoughts on “Chemistry 1-16-15 Wave Properties of Light

  1. This lab really helped me with wavelength and frequency. i also learned that humans can pass electrons through one another.

  2. I learned this week that light travels in waves depending on what type it is. Same goes for its frequency. Different forms of light have lots of uses. It heats our food, it can see into our bodies, it can give power to our houses, and can even treat diseases.

  3. I am enjoying the material we are covering, but I am having difficulty with the problems. I can not keep all the steps straight in my head. I hope we have a few help sessions before the next test

  4. I was having difficulty with understanding quantum mechanics but whenever you went over it in class again I understood it better.

  5. I didn’t really understand the electron clouds and how they worked until you showed us how they worked using the balloons.

  6. I give myself a 4 out of 5 stars because I missed a lot of the electron configuration problems, but I learned how to do them right.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *