Chemistry 12-8-14 Isotopes & Average Atomic Mass

CHEMISTRY: Isn’t God awesome to give us minds to understand the world around us – even the parts we can’t see!

Can you believe atoms are that small – and the nucleus even waaaaaay smaller! The thumbnail is a picture of atoms from the IBM Almaden Research Center. These are iron atoms on top of copper. Being able to move atoms around like this was a giant leap in the field of nanotechnology! (Sorry about that, bad pun! 🙂 )

Here’s the lecture from Monday on atomic number and isotopes. It’s the last lecture for this chapter – and for this year!!

How are you doing on writing nuclear symbols? Also make sure you can use them to determine the number of protons, neutrons, electrons, etc., AND be sure you can use the formula to find average atomic mass! Happy calculating on the problems for tonight.

Oh, any questions about the Carbon Isotope Mini-Project?

CHEMISTRY 12-8-14 Isotopes & Average Atomic Mass from Tammy Skinner on Vimeo.

Image source IBM Almaden Research Center

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

25 thoughts on “Chemistry 12-8-14 Isotopes & Average Atomic Mass

  1. My themed for the isotope project is a butterfly. The carbon isotopes will be the polka dots. Is it okay if the body of my butterfly is like bright pink or bright green color? Or does the body have to be black? Also, when we label the isotopes and one of the protons and neutrons, instead of using toothpick, could i use the sewing pins?

    • I’m sorry for my typing errors. That contains very bad grammar. I meant to say could I use a sewing pin, like the pins with the small round ball at the top, to label my isotopes, protons, and neutrons. I will also glue a small slip of paper on the top of the pin that will state the isotope, proton, and neutron. Is that acceptable?

  2. This week when we strated on average atomic mass problems, I did really well on them except for moving my decimal in the percent part of the problem. After the review today in class I think I will be ready for the test tomorrow.

  3. Because pictures of atoms are in black and white, scientist distinguish the difference between protons, neutrons, and electrons by adding color. Ms. Skinner, when you emphasize in the Project Sheet Requirements about the color, is it to ensure that we keep all protons the same color, nuetrins the same color, and electrons the same color, right? We do not know the real color so we are creating our own completely. (There’s not any specific colors you have instructed us to use, right?)

    • C – Yes! But make sure you are clear on what you are supposed to making, what your model is to represent! (Just double checking, but make sure you re-read The Mission!!)

  4. I rate myself 5 out of 5 stars on the average atomic mass problems. I rate myself so high because I felt confidant in doing these problems and felt like I did good on the problems on the test.

  5. I rate myself a 4 out of 5 because i feel that the average atomic mass really clicked in my brain because i really understood it

  6. Atomic mass problems are, like you said, easy problems that could possibly end up being difficult. At first, it was overwhelming with all the numbers, but I eventually got the hang of it! I loved learning the fact that IBM’s logo was actually atoms placed in a formation that would make the letters. I always thought that it was just a cool design that they had thought of!

  7. This week I learned average atomic mass problems and I would give myself 4 out of 5 stars on this because I felt like I really understood the problems but I just have to be extra cautious when writing down the numbers or putting them in the calculator.

  8. This week we made the isotope project. it was very difficult and it was fun. But I had practice in finding volume of a square and rectagle.

  9. This week’s material was very hectic for me,as I was sick and had a headache. This week I would give myself 3 out 5 stars.
    I hope this exam review packet is accurate and adds points to my exam.
    Also, I need to refresh my memory on other things from this semester.
    But otherwise, I hope I can remember everything clearly.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *