Chemistry 4-3-14 Multiple Covalent Bonds

CHEMISTRY: Great job practicing multiple bonds with Lewis structures today! Here’s the lecture from yesterday on double and triple covalent bonds, with resonance at the end.

Be careful about getting too happy with double bonding – count electrons and don’t forget CONS. And what else? Oh yes, PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE! We’ll put one more twist on Lewis structures tomorrow!

Now go forth and conquer the Lewis Structures Worksheet! Be sure and get the updated worksheet. The last compound should be N2O3.

HON CHEMISTRY 2-13-14 Multiple Bonds & Polyatomic Ions from Tammy Skinner on Vimeo.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

39 thoughts on “Chemistry 4-3-14 Multiple Covalent Bonds

  1. I think I’m starting to get the hang of the lewis structures. They are pretty easy if you think ahead about which atoms will bond together.

  2. It really helped when we did those tough Lewis structure problems. I feel like I understand them so much better now.

    • Jessica – Not unless the source is being used for something different than what you first used it for.

  3. you taught me something new this week, i knew that bonds existed, i just didnt know about them in depth. I didnt know there were different types.

  4. It would be interesting to know who came up with the idea of CONS and how they determined that only those four atoms could have multiple bonds.

  5. I’m glad we’ve got to practice the Lewis structure so much in class it is helping me understand it better.

  6. I found it very helpful and interesting to know that only CONS have double bonds and that polyatomic ions can have resonance structures.

  7. I found it very interesting how a Polyatomic Ion’s Lewis structure is formed. Its just the original structure, but with brackets and its charge.

  8. How do I know where to put the first dots representing the valence electrons of the first element that goes in the middle: (top, bottom, left, right, in twos) ?

    • Mollie – I base it on what element the first element is going to be bonding to. For example, if it’s bonding to chlorine, I put at least one electron on a side so that chlorine will have something to bond to. If it’s bonding to oxygen, I’ll put two electrons on one side, if I have them, because that’s how many electrons oxygen needs. It doesn’t always work out perfectly, but I try! 🙂

  9. I really have enjoyed all the practice we have done with the lewis structures. I feel like I could ace a test if we had one on Monday!

    • Mary Grace – Not necessarily, it all would depend on what the illustrations were and the amount of detail you put into them. Talk with me about it in class and I’ll explain.

  10. I had no clue that only Carbon, Oxygen, Nitrogen, and Sulfur could form multiple bonds. I find that so interesting.

  11. Lewis structures I find quit easy I wish most of it was like them. Being able to draw them out also seems to bring a substance to something that is there to a level easier to comprehend other than just knowing its smaller than the smallest small.

  12. i thought doing the lewis structure would be hard when i first saw it but after we practiced it became extremely easy.

  13. Will there be a help session soon on the Lewis structures so I can get some more practice especially with the double and triple bonds?

    • Bronson – Sure! Let’s talk about it in class and set a date if you guys want to have a help session.

  14. The representations of the molecules and their bonds in the 3-D molecule lab showed that bonds aren’t just lines between atoms. The atoms are actually sharing pairs of electrons, and the shared pairs of electrons represent the bonds between the atoms in the molecules.

  15. The molecular geometry wasn’t hard at all to learn and pick up on. It seemed like it would be but I actualy enjoyed doing that kind of stuff.

  16. For the project, we don’t have to put how we returned to civilization do we? I read the sheet and it only says to write journal entries for when we do but I was unsure if that had to be a part of our story.

  17. The STEM day was very interesting. I did not know that pharmacists had different jobs other than working at a CVS or Wallgreens.

  18. Thank you for not giving us homework this weekend so we can work on the project and for giving us more time on the 3d molecules.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *